The risky loan I gave out.

20230614_074854_0000.png

My own image, designed on Canva

The only time I tried risking something and decided never to try it again was when I loaned my friend a huge amount of money (#30,000) $40+. It was a lot of money to me at that time, the year 2016 precisely. I was working as a teacher then and I was saving the money for my degree education when my sister suggested I must further my education. I was also saving to support myself so I don't leave the whole burden to the one who has planned to sponsor me because I knew she had responsibilities too. I kept the money so I could use it to obtain a direct entry form and part of it to pay my acceptance fee. That was my plan even though my sister paid all for me.

My friend knew I was working and she had planned her movement. She came to me after receiving my salary and narrated her story of how she wanted to help her mother's business because it has gone down and there was no money to pull the business back up. She agreed to pay me back at a particular time and I also did not fail to explain what I intended using the money for. She is my friend, so, I don't want her to think something else of me, I did what I could and loaned her the money.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHahvkSvQRNeRpMiQt4iFB4Bk5q1KLMxAW7sj87hGVo5yPhQUjdDgNP7p6KbZw75hVKsoUoV9qvv2e2LXXmZmeC9YvYiQwtEyRJn7vQMndK5Rd8NKFgS.webp

Ever since I loaned her, my mind wasn't settled. I kept having different imaginations and questions like: what if she didn't return my money? How will I pay for my direct entry form? I started imagining how I would meet and fight with her if she ended up not paying my money because I have heard of cases where people borrow money and do not return back, making the loaner or lender foolish to have helped. But I wouldn't want such a case or a situation I would fight my friend because of money. When I talked about it to my younger brother because we are much closer and we do rapport on anything. He started putting fear in me and making it worse for me. That was how I started regretting I shouldn't have loaned her, I should have lied that I don't have it and all sorts of that. I couldn't sleep every night because the thought of the amount and how she would plan to pay back disturbed me. She wasn't doing anything that period.

One thing that keeps coming to my mind again was when my immediate younger sister would jokingly say nothing should happen to someone especially if they have your stuff with them. Whenever I borrow money from her, she would say, "Please return my money. Don't die yet" 😀 even though she was always joking with it, I took it seriously and a lot of "what ifs" kept troubling my mind.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHahvkSvQRNeRpMiQt4iFB4Bk5q1KLMxAW7sj87hGVo5yPhQUjdDgNP7p6KbZw75hVKsoUoV9qvv2e2LXXmZmeC9YvYiQwtEyRJn7vQMndK5Rd8NKFgS.webp

When the time came for my friend to pay back, I expected her to bring it but she didn't. It was then she started avoiding me. She used to come and buy something at our landlord's shop but she stopped coming and would only send one of her siblings. Once I asked about her, the sibling would say she is around and fine. I didn't want to go meet her at home, so I kept giving her time to pay back. At that point, I was so scared and started thinking of how it would be if the form was out or if I needed the money for an urgent matter. My friend turned to someone who was avoiding me and wouldn't want to see me. I started praying to God for my friend to pay me back without withholding my money. I didn't want a situation where money will ruin our friendship. I kept being patient and waiting for her to come.

After two months had passed away from the stipulated time we both agreed on, she sent a message to me for my account details. I even thought she wanted to pay all, but she paid one-third of it and begged me that she would pay my money as there has not been business going well. I pitied her condition though because she was also struggling to find a job at that time. I gave her more time while I was also praying not to witness anything bad concerning my money. She eventually paid all my money even though she paid in instalments, but I learnt a big lesson: Do not loan an amount you wouldn't let go because there are times people won't pay you back and still quarrel with you on your own money. This is how most people end up killing the ones who borrowed them so they won't have to pay back.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHahvkSvQRNeRpMiQt4iFB4Bk5q1KLMxAW7sj87hGVo5yPhQUjdDgNP7p6KbZw75hVKsoUoV9qvv2e2LXXmZmeC9YvYiQwtEyRJn7vQMndK5Rd8NKFgS.webp

The week she paid the last part of the money was when the direct entry form came out and I was happy she eventually paid all without engaging in a fight or going to report each other to people to help settle it. Till now, I make sure to know the nature of the work you do before loaning you any amount or better still, I give what I can afford to lose.

Thanks for your time on my blog.

png_20230103_101955_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now