The celebration was fun.


20240104_154646.jpg

How did the New Year celebration go for me?

The day began with me waking up to the sound of my sister who came to call me that morning devotion had started; some days I would feel happy to join and would jump out of bed as if I was waiting for their call, and some other days, I hissed incessantly with my eyes covered with the pillow while I shrugged with my eyes a little closed as I find my way first to the bathroom to ease myself, my dad would complain about this several times for this act and ask if I would have peed on the bed if no one comes to call me. "Why is it that when you are called for morning devotion that is when you will know your way to the bathroom first?", he would ask. Hahaha 😆 I haven't changed and will not change 😅

So, we did the morning devotion and knowing that I would be the one to do the cooking made me more scared because I had never cooked a meal so large before and that day would be my first. How would it taste? Won't I cook rubbish on New Year's Day like this? These were some of the questions in my mind as I went back to change into normal clothes to begin cooking. Even in my walking steps, one would notice I was trying to run away from the cooking but I had no option because my two sisters weren't around; they travelled back after the Christmas celebration. I was left alone as the mother of the house even though there was one of our aunts at home too but she was getting too old for those tasks. Why have me at home then?



I gathered the courage after I said a prayer: Lord, help me today! It's my first time with something like this, help me!

"Okay, everybody, come outside, we are doing this together. If we don't finish all, no one is leaving this house for church except for the one who is in the choir unit", I shouted while coming from my room towards the parlour. Then everyone screamed and was like "Aunty Busayo, don't do this" I smiled while the division of labour began.

"You... take 10 big onions and slice them. You... take 12 tomato paste and put them in a bowl etc". That was how I began giving each one what to do while I went to the back of the house where we would use the firewood to cook. We rented a big aluminium pot as we don't have one so that the food would be enough. While doing this, I kept giving a slow sigh and talking to God in my mind to help me. The anxiety was all over me even though I tried not to show it to avoid any suspicion that I could not cook the food 😅


20240105_171555.jpg

This is where we cook our food

The boys got busy with chickens as they killed and removed the feathers. One of my cousins was in charge of boiling and frying the meat while some were with me, the remaining ones went inside to take their bath so that no one would disturb others who needed to bathe too. We have three bathrooms in the house and it was enough for us. My sister left an MP3 player for me before she left and that was what I used to play music as I connected with my phone and the place was bubbling. I would say the music gave me strength and was in the mood to do my best with the food.



After what seemed like an hour and thirty minutes, jollof rice was ready and I discharged everyone to go take their bath, then I packed the whole food in a big cooler so it would still be hot when they were back from church. By the time all the work was done, I became tired and changed my mind about going to church. I looked at my ironed clothes and smiled because I was just looking for the perfect excuse not to go to church; I was the one who cooked so I became weak. Everyone left, leaving my brother and I alone. Another cousin of mine had an accident the previous day, thank God it didn't claim his life, though he had internal injury plus scratches on his back, he was also at home with us.

It was around 3 pm when they returned from church and that was when I served everyone their food with the malt drinks being put in the freezer since morning to get cold enough. The young ones took the bottled malt while adults took the canned malt. Please, what difference does it make? Malt is Malt! My aunt just loves doing what she likes. Lol



Though, I felt sad from the beginning of the day because my sisters weren't around to celebrate with us. Although it was for a good cause, still, I enjoyed the celebration with a nice meal which everyone commented it was good and thanked me for preparing such a nice and delicious meal plus chilled drinks to complement it. My MP3 player was there to lighten the mood in my room. After eating, I slept soundly and woke up later in the evening. I pretended to be weak as the younger ones made dinner — pounded yam with vegetable soup, called me to eat and that was the end of it.

Both images are mine

Thanks for your time reading. Looking forward to your interaction.

20240101_131050_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center