Stress is inevitable

We live in a world where stress is inevitable, we deal with stress in almost every area of our lives.

I live in Lagos, a popular state in Nigeria. Lagos on its own is a stressful place to live in starting from house rent, electricity bill, waste bill etc. Everything about Lagos is stressful and people that live here can testify to that.

Not to talk about working in the city, imagine someone that is going to work as early as 4:30 am and by the time he's coming back home, he meets traffic on his way that makes him stay out till 10 pm in the night.

Isn't that a stress on its own? That is how stressful the city I live in can be every day. Now add personal life stress to it, every aspect of life has its way of giving someone stress.
Let's just say stress is part of life that everyone experiences one way or the other.



Unsplash

So back to today's topic "stress factor"

As you all know I am a hair stylist, and making hair is not something you can do just in a minute and not even in an hour no matter how fast you think you are. Although it depends on the kind of hair you want to plait but still there is no hairstyle that you can do in a minute so because of that every part of my work gives stress. That's inevitable though because that's where I make a living, what gives me stress most right now is transportation.

Transportation is one of the things that stress me aside from the usual work stress, Imagine that everyday transportation fare keeps increasing and there is no how to beat the money down.

How I have been dealing with the transportation stress, there is no other way to deal with transportation stress than to cut down the fee and this is how I do it.

Instead of taking a bike from my house like I always do, I will trek for some minutes to where I can get cheap tricycles every morning.

In the evening I walk some minutes to anywhere I can get a cheap bike and instead of dropping at my gate, I will drop at the junction to pay less for the bike. This has been my routine ever since transportation has refused to go down.



Unsplash

There was a day I didn't see a cheap bike when I closed from work and I didn't have a choice but to trek more than usual and then take a tricycle to the junction of my house. I didn't spend more than I should because I always have a fixed amount to spend on transport every month.

So whenever the transportation fee goes up my leg will help me out and once it's cheap again I won't hesitate to enjoy it.
One thing about transportation is that you can't run away from it except if you are the type that works from home or probably you are not working, but if you should go out every morning then you can't run away from transportation stress.

Imagine someone that has budgeted the amount of money he wants to spend on transport daily and when he gets to the park, the money has increased. What would such a person do than feel stressed but then he has to go out so he doesn't have a choice but to take the chance?

If only my workplace is near I wouldn't have to deal with transportation stress because we all know that work comes with stress and the transportation issue just adds salt to the injury.

Has my method of dealing with the stress working?

The answer is yes because I always close early if I am not doing anything at work again so that I can get home on time and then rest after the little way of cutting down my transport fee with my leg.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments