A personal reflection

Making sacrifices is not until we lay down our lives for other people; it could be a stranger, family, or friend. Although we might not see a big deal in the things we do daily, many of our actions have turned out to be sacrifices we make for peace to reign.

I love making people around me comfortable even when I am not, and most people take that for granted because they think they deserve the sacrifice I made for them, which I only did for peace to reign.


The image is mine and was edited on Canva by me

There was this woman that sells provisions on our street, and before I moved in with my husband, he had been buying foodstuffs from her, so I just thought that since he patronized her, I should do so as well.

One day I was on my way out and I needed cash, so I told her to give me the cash and I would transfer it back to her. I remembered doing the transfer on my way before I took the bike.

When I was coming back, I went to her shop to buy something, and she never mentioned that the money I transferred didn't get into her account, so I went home.

A week after my husband passed she sent me a message saying that I was owing her and I had refused to pay her, my husband got home and asked why I had to buy something on credit instead of asking him for money.

For some minutes, I was short on words because I never bought anything on credit from the woman since I moved into the apartment, so I was trying to figure out what I bought from her.

Later, I went to her shop so I could clear up the misunderstanding, and she said I owed her the money I took from her while rushing out the other day. I told her I had sent it immediately before I took the bike that day, but she wouldn't listen to me. All she was saying was that I was owing her.

I didn't have the money on me at the moment, so I had to call my husband at home so that he could transfer the money to her. He wasn't sure I was owing her, so that was why he didn't give it to her when she asked him.

When I got home, he told me that I shouldn't have taken the cash from her because she had done that to him before, and he had to pay twice for peace to reign.

I blame myself for not going to the POS to get the cash instead of taking it from her, which I later paid double for what I didn't owe. Well, I did that so that she could stop yelling at me or tell more people that I owed her.


The image is mine

Sometimes we just have to let some things go for the sake of peace because some people don't mind tarnishing your image for minor issues, so I had to inconvenience my husband to pay the money that I wasn't owing for peace to reign.

Some months later, I overheard someone dragging with her the money she had collected and still insisting that she hadn't been paid.

I felt bad paying twice, but I couldn't argue with her or overlook the situation because she would definitely be telling everyone in the area that I owed, which I wouldn't like, and that was why I had to sacrifice the extra cash in my husband's account so that everyone could go on their way with peace in the area.

Ever since then, I didn't bother buying something from her; I would rather buy it from a shop and then bring it back home.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center