Your friendly neighbourhood superhero

Call it luck or whatever, but there are certain things that happens that makes you believe in God's direction and intervention.

photo-1518735881707-1a53be861a5f.jpeg
photo by Stephen Hocking

Some months ago, I had written about my neighbor who almost burnt down our hostel due to the fact that she had left a pot of beans on fire and slept off. And although we all laughed about the whole thing (we still do), the realization of how tragic that whole thing could have been still gets me scared something.

Well today, about thirty minutes before I began writing this post, the same thing had happened again.

I was at my friend's room downstairs with some of the boys, playing some fifa when all of a sudden I had this urge to go upstairs to my room. I had no reason to want to go upstairs as I still wanted to play more games, but there was this need for me to leave my friend's room and although I didn't know what it was, I decided to hand someone else the game pad and just told them that I'd be back.

So I left his room and began to go upstairs. I haven't even gotten to the top of the stairs yet when the familiar smell of something getting burnt hit my nostrils. Immediately, I knew what was going on because this wasn't the first time that I was experiencing something like this.

After the one that happened few months ago, someone else had also fallen asleep while she had left some noodles on the fire and I had gone to wake her up, so I knew the smell all too well. The sad thing is that all of this people have one thing in common, they all are working people who always come home exhausted and just want to eat and sleep.

So immediately I got that familiar smell, I had done the only thing I could do, I had began moving from door to door upstairs. I didn't have to do much to find out what door the smell was coming from as it was the first door on my floor. Immediately I had knocked on the door and luckily for me, the guy inside had left it unlocked. So I had pushed it open and yelled out his name because that was the only thing I could do as the smoke inside the house made it almost impossible for me to see anything.

He had immediately gotten up, half awake and half asleep and had ran outside, but the gas was still on and someone needed to turn it off, so I asked him to go back inside while I followed closely. I didn't want to be in his room alone and also didn't want him to go in alone because I feared he could still be asleep, so we both went in together, turned off the gas and opened up his doors abs windows.

And by the time we both walked outside, I was covered in whatever smell burnt food smells like. So now I'm here, getting ready to take my bath for the second time tonight, while asking myself if that strong urge I had earlier was just God asking me to go upstairs and save another brother.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments