A NORMAL BUT FULFILLING DAY

New Year's Day for me was like a normal day but it being the first day of the year made it unique and special. I remember the excitement I had in the cross-over service as midnight approached. The drama unit in the church started their presentation very late, and they weren't done a few minutes before the dawn of the new year, the church couldn't keep calm and started jubilating and thanking God. I was so happy that, my family, and friends were all crossing over to the new year.

After the service my family and I
went home early, my elder brother and his family came around for the crossover night, and before they left we had the usual family prayer. During my conversation with his wife, I asked her what she would be preparing, she said fried rice so I pleaded with her to package some for me and give it to her husband when he came in the morning. I made a few calls to wish my friends and family a happy new year, a normal me would have stayed awake till early morning but that day I decided to sleep early.

Source

At 5 am, my mom woke me up to start preparing the dishes I wasn't happy because I tried talking my mom into preparing fried rice but my mom insisted on us making stew and rice, thank God a miracle came to fulfill my wish of eating fried rice that day. We made our work easier by cooking the chicken before going for the crossover night, so we just had to prepare stew and rice and we were done before 7 am.

My brother came early morning with the food, I was so excited because I had been craving fried rice and salad after perceiving the sweet aroma, I immediately jumped into the food and kept some for my siblings. I ate quite early that day because on Christmas day I couldn't eat at all, you know the pain of seeing food, meat and not being able to eat due to illness . I was seriously pained but on New Year's Day I was always going to the pot and fridge I became the MVP that day.

After my house chores, I got my nephew ready and freshened up. I took my phone and started calling everyone I could think of to wish them a happy new year, I planned on taking my nephew out that day but I had to postpone it to Boxing Day which I later did. The day was going well with me attending to family members and friends who came. The late evening brought unexpected joy as my uncle, a doppelganger in appearance, and his family came around. I haven't seen him for a long time now but I am close with his wife and we come across each other in school.

I was happy they came around, whenever she came to visit, she was always talking about her children whom I hadn't seen before, I got to see them that day. I teased her about how her children were so beautiful like her, she was smiling all through. They left an hour later for my other uncle's home. I was so glad I didn't go out that day otherwise, I wouldn't have had the chance to see them. That was how I spent my New Year's Day at home but it was special and fulfilling.

Thank you for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center