...AND IT ALL COMES NATURAL

I’ve always considered myself a multi-talented lady (and I am, by the way). I noticed I have an interest in a lot of different related paths. At some point, I thought it was some sort of bipolar disorder but I’ve come to the realization that it’s just me being blessed with the ability to fit into different paths with ease. Amongst everything that I’m interested in, there are two (2) that I didn’t have to sweat over; they came naturally. I had them in me since when I realized I was human. I exhibited them even before I knew I was talented in them.


The first natural talent is writing.
thought-catalog-505eectW54k-unsplash.jpg Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash


I started writing when I was in elementary school. I would construct text messages for any family member who had no idea what the content of their text message would be. I would always choose storytelling over writing letters in school and I even wrote short stories and plays for some of my older friends who were teachers and needed one for teaching purposes. I had no idea it was a gift, I just sincerely loved what I was doing.

The second natural talent is acting.

jon-tyson-A-obUh61bKw-unsplash.jpg Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I looove to act. Growing up, I didn’t have a healthy self-esteem. I found it very difficult to show off something I thought I was good at to anyone for fear of being criticized. One wrong word and I’d retreat into my shell and die a million deaths and I could as well kiss whatever it was goodbye which was why it was just the mirror, walls, and clothes that knew I could play a part. When I was absolutely sure I was alone, I would begin to act out parts of my favorite actresses with the mirror, wall, or a set of clothes that has been hung as my audience (weird audience, I know). At least it was better than feeling less of me if I ever got criticized. I knew I loved acting but I didn’t know if I was good at it.

Years later, I got into the University and joined the drama club of my Christian fellowship. It took everything in me to do that. I was still struggling with shyness and my self-esteem which is why I was knocked off-balance when everyone who saw me act was awed. Some argued I had been acting previously (well, who’d better tell me what I’ve been up to than someone who knew nothing about me😂). It was then that I began to break free from my shyness and unhealthy self-esteem.
Last year, I attended a program. We needed to shoot a short film and someone insisted I be on the team. I declined but everybody insisted for reasons known to them alone.

erik-brolin-5MrToTIpGHY-unsplash.jpgPhoto by Erik Brolin on Unsplash

I reluctantly agreed. The shyness hit me at first but once I was into the role, I forgot people were watching. Our director was awed. He kept changing actors but my role was untouched. Matter-of-fact, he couldn’t stop talking about how I was killing it. To date, there are still some people who haven’t accepted that I wasn’t already an actress. I began to fully grasp how good I was in this acting thingy.
The joy that writing and acting give me is unmatched. I’m yet to find that happiness and fulfillment anywhere else.
These two roles have helped me find myself in this lost world. In a loud world, I’ve been able to find myself and my voice and I love what they look and sound like. I bare myself and tell my story through how I write and act. I can’t wait for the whole world to see and know what treasure God hid inside me and when that time comes, I hope I don’t lose myself to it too.
Peace, love, and everything in between.🤞

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center