W60E1: Childhood lies: I was asked not to swallow star apple seed, if not, it will germinate in my stomach.

Childhood lies: I was asked not to swallow star apple seed, if not, it will germinate in my stomach.

currants-1496075_640.jpg

Source

Good morning all, so excited that I am through with my examination. I thank God the last paper was successful.

Welcome back to the featured post for this week. This particular one topic is very interesting to participate in. I believe, many have shared their experiences of how they were told lies upon lies starting from childhood until now if it is still rampant. But in my days I was fooled by so many lies. In my childhood days, outsiders told me lies, even my parents. I dreamed and shared with my parents, their interpretation will be full of lies and meaningless facts.

Many lies were told in my childhood days, not only one type, different ones.
I was told when my teeth breaks, I should throw it on top of the roof, so that the new one will grow fast. There was a day I threw my teeth inside the bush, my mum asked me to go inside and bring it out and throw on top of the roof. I did it with enthusiasm, not knowing they were fooling me, hmmm. Today it is not happening again. My younger ones are not doing it.

During my time, much pressure was mounted on me about this lying stuff of a thing.
Another one was, as a woman, you are not allowed to see masquerade, those that do apply charcoal on their skin. Pregnant women same thing as they don't allow them to see masquerade, if done they will give birth to a masquerade child. More on this line, a man don't fight with a masquerade or to uncover the face of the masquerade, if caught they person will die. I have seen a man fought with a masquerade before and nothing happened to him after the fight. I didn't know all these lies were superstition.

Another magical or mystical lie was about the swallowing of star apple seed, in my local dialect it is called udada. So funny, that I couldn't withhold this laugh. So, this is what happened. In my family there was a big star apple tree, very tall. I was under the star apple tree waiting for one to drop on the ground, so I can pick and eat. My imagination was right, immediately it fells, and I picked, I started eating. I ate and swallowed all the five seeds in the star apple. I picked another, I ate one, heading to the house. My mum was outside washing her clothes, she asked me, I hope you have not swallowed the seeds, I told her that I had swallowed them, she screamed that they seeds were going to germinate on my stomach, so I cried.

Lies! lies!! lies!!!.

This post is in response to hive learners contest week 6 edition 1.

Thank you for reading this post of mine.

I love, I care, and I forgive.

I remain @peckypeace.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center