My Encounter With The Shoe Maker

My Encounter With The Shoe Maker

Hello friends and family of Hive and the hive learners community, I welcome you to my blog. This is my entry for Hive Learners weekly contest for Week fifty six edition three.

pexels-mnz-1598505.jpg

Photo by Mnz
Everyone in the community wants to go to school and obtain a school certificate to prove that he or she is educated to prevent insult from the community and family members and to also be on a safer side when job opportunity knocks at the door. We are in a world today that school isn't the basic route to financial prosperity unlike when school was overated in the those days. We have individuals that became smart both business wise and in morals through the effect or impact of the community on them and not through school. I mean, you are a finished person already if you are staying in places like Lagos state Nigeria and you're not smart, they will reap you and finish you up in that kind of place. What I'm trying to say is that being smart is beyond books and pen because the street will not understand the language of books except the language of the street.

pexels-david-iloba-16155218.jpg

David Iloba
I had an encounter with a shoe maker in Jos market early ending last year, I bought a new shoe and the man was just standing right beside me as if he is among the owners of the shop but he wasn't. Immediately I got my shoes, he rushed and collected it from my hands and asked me to follow him, I stopped him and ask why should I follow him and why will he collect my shoe in such manner, he then told me he wants to put eyelets for my shoe (the little round iron with a hole where the show lace is fixed). I told him I don't have much money and he said I should follow him I will like what I will see and I will be able to pay for it because it is not costly. He put for one and was showing me the work he did, quite alright the eyelet will help make my shoe to last longer without tearing at the top but I was shocked when this man told me each of the pin is 300naira (almost half a dollar) so how much will I have to put for almost twenty four?. I told the man I don't want it and he held my shoe and requested I pay for the one he has already inserted on my shoe.

pexels-allan-mas-5623675.jpg
Allan Mas
I told him I am giving him a hundred naira or he should take it off because I don't have that kind of money to pay for just an eyelet he inserted in my shoe, I asked him to give me #900 so I can give him a thousand naira. He told me he has only 500# naira notes and doesn't have change to give to me, so I told him to look for change but he gave me the two five hundred naira and asked me to look for the change myself. I didn't hesitate I collected the two five hundred naira notes and gave him the one thousand naira.

I was able to get five hundred naira change so I can give him the hundred naira note I said I am going to give him. The man told me he isn't collecting the hundred naira beside the hundred naira is old and he gave me new five hundred naira notes so why should I give him old hundred naira note, it was at that moment I understood that the man wasn't in for peace and I have to step up or get cheated. I told him to give me back the one thousand naira I gave him, I collected back the five hundred naira I changed and then gave the man back the five hundred naira notes he gave to me and left the place with my shoes and didn't turned back.

pexels-ismail-seghosime-5671470.jpg
ismail seghosime
I didn't give him the hundred naira again because he wanted to play me smartness and so he thinks I will be afraid of him and succumb to his negative threads and tricks but I also shined my eyes and left the place. At that moment I had to play a street guy to get out of that place if not I will be cheated. I believe there are situations that needs this type of approach to get out of it because knowledge from the class wouldn't have saved me from this man's hand that day.

Thank You

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center