Stress: School can stress one out.

Hello, everyone.

Welcome to my blog and another wonderful edition of the Hive Learners' featured post. There's a lot stressing me out, finances and many other things, but currently, nothing stresses me out the way school does: waking up as early as 4 a.m. every weekday, rounding up every half-done assignment and project in order to meet up the submission deadline later that same day. Sometimes we have fixed classes on Saturdays as well; attendance is a must.

Screenshot_20230724-170914.png
designed on canva

Everyone who has passed through the four walls of a university actually has a story to tell; the stress that comes with being a college student is way too much. From one assignment to the next, accompanied by other extracurricular activities, we just cannot avoid No doubt, school gets in the way and stops us from participating in so many other activities. People ask me why I stopped playing football. If I have class from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. every weekday, the little free time I have will be spent playing football, adding to my stress. Instead, I take a nap or do something less stressful.

Every weekday, I leave my room as early as 8 a.m. and come back in the evening not to rest but to worry about how to get an assignment done for the next day. Sometimes I feel like the lecturers in my department just hate to see a student resting; they like to see students running helter-skelter. It's a continuous process, and we signed up for it but did not expect the stress to be this much.

The current hike in the cost of petroleum has also affected the cost of transportation, leaving students who are average earners with no choice but to walk to wherever they are going around school premises. This alone is stress on a whole different level; you get home and feel like you went to the farm and not school.

Sometimes I wish it was just the piles of assignments that I have to worry about, but it does not end there. As agricultural and bioresources engineering students, we are divided into groups and given a project to construct one machine or another. Putting this work together is extra stressful, and I always pray not to be added to a group that consists of either unserious colleagues or lazy colleagues; otherwise, you guys won't be able to do the work, causing you to lose the mark attached.

Defending this project is also a cause for worry; anyone who did not take the project seriously is caught out on this day. The supervisors or lecturer in charge bombarded everyone with questions about how we arrived at the results, the process, and the materials used.

Screenshot_20230724-143455.png
screenshot from my WhatsApp chat.

Last week we were given another project, and no one knows how to go about this particular project; this is literally almost everyone's first time hearing about such. The deadline is drawing near, and no move has been made so far. From the above screenshot, I believe you too find it confusing. There has been a little brainstorming with other coursemates, and hopefully before the deadline we can deliver on this one.

How to cope with stress

This works for me all the time.

  • I rest in my free time, even though it is hard to come by.
  • Associate with friends; sometimes when you feel stressed out, hang around your peers, joke around, and tease each other; before you know it, you'll feel better.

Thanks for reading my post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments