Rural area vs urban area: my preference.

Hello, everyone.

Welcome to my blog and another wonderful edition of the Hive Learners' featured post. A lot of things are considered whenever it comes to choosing a place to live in, even if it's temporary or permanent. People consider the pros and cons before agreeing to live in a particular area. The truth is, whether we live in an urban area or a rural area, there are pros and cons. Living in a rural area has disadvantages as well as living in an urban area. The only comfort is when the advantages of living in the area outweigh the disadvantages.

Many of us must have been lucky enough to experience what it feels like to live in a rural area and as well experienced living in an urban area, and we all must have compared and come to a conclusion that we can actually tolerate and endure. When it comes to choosing where to settle or live, every individual has their own different choices for wanting to settle in a particular area, and one cannot expect another individual to like the rural area because their friends or family members like it or live there; everyone is entitled to the particular area that works for them, an area where they feel they can fit in perfectly. Many people make the mistake of settling in areas because a loved one settled there, and in the end they realize they cannot fit in or endure the disadvantages.

I have lived in a rural area, and I really do like the setting of a rural area; it is more quiet and a lot more peaceful compared to living in urban areas, but many rural areas have problems accessing basic amenities like water and electricity. During the Easter break, I visited my uncle, who lives in a rural area. According to him, he loves it there, and the cost of living is not that expensive in the area, but we had a water problem. The community lacked good water, and residents were left with two choices: they could either buy water or travel miles to a stream to get water. We are humans, and journeying miles to get only a few buckets of water would be tiring, so we settled for buying, which was not easy either.

The few weeks I spent with them, I saw how much they loved and cared for each other, and everyone around them kind of liked each other, even if it was not deep since it was just a small community. Trust me, this kind of thing hardly exists in urban areas. In urban areas you are totally left on your own and a few friends or neighbours that care, but in rural areas everyone cares as they were all behaving like one big family, and I admired it. It is true that in rural areas you have a slim chance of getting any opportunities that can help better your life, so if one is still trying to find their feet, then settling and living in urban areas is the best, as urban areas offer one everything they need to pursue their goals, ranging from the technologies needed to people they might need on their way up.

So currently, since I am still trying to find my feat, I am definitely going to choose settling in an urban area over settling in a rural area because of the opportunities that come with it. I like peace and quiet, but urban areas don't offer that, so I will probably live in an urban area as a young person, and when it is time for retirement, I would retire to a rural area where I would enjoy the peace and quiet that I crave every now and then.

Note: All images used are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center