Mental Health: How Do You Cope in This Crazy World?

Hello, everyone.

png_20230525_165912_0000.png
designed on canva.

Welcome to my blog and another wonderful edition of the Hive Learners' featured post. Making our mental health and the wellness of our entire body a priority is very important. Though the wellness of our bodies is prioritized more than our mental health, many forget that our mental health also needs to be checked.

Many go for checkups, but the last thing they'd do is check their mental health. Everyday we are exposed to activities that affect and cause our mental health to deteriorate, and we are never bothered about how to improve this mental health that is deteriorating day by day.

The world is faced by so many challenges, and these challenges affect us all, causing us to suffer mental stress. Everyday we wake up and struggle to make ends meet, our mental health is worked up, and if not given the proper attention it needs, one day it will fail us, and we will be required to undergo a series of medical tests that will cost us more than just regular checkups on our mental health.

I have been to seminars where a lot was said about taking care of our physical bodies and how we should go about doing so, but this week's prompt made me realize nothing was said about mental health and how one can take care of their mental health in any of the seminars. It is bad to see how mental health is so underrated or not rated at all.

We all know when we reach our limits and our capacity. I know I have reached my limits when I can no longer understand what someone is saying or forget everything said. In school, sometimes we have classes from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. At 4 p.m., one is already tired and exhausted. I will be looking at the lecturer like I am following, but everything that has been said at the moment is not sticking at all. Once I notice that I know I am currently at my limit, further struggling simply means I am forcing it.

a few things I engage in to help ease mental stress.

There are a few steps I take to free myself from mental stress, and they help my mental health a lot:

  • Good Sleep: Failure to get enough sleep can actually affect one's mental health, causing them to suffer mental stress. For this reason, I try to get enough sleep at every given opportunity. Growing up, I hated taking naps, but I currently do so for a living. After a good sleep, you feel energized, and your brain gets some rest as well.

  • Do what makes you happy: Most times, engaging in something that makes you happy can also help improve one's mental health; it can be a sport or it can be watching movies. When you engage in something that makes you happy, you tend to forget about your worries, which helps your mental health.

  • Hang around positive People: No doubt, the people you hang around can either help improve your mental health or cause it to degrade. Imagine hanging around people who make mockery of you with the situation you are in; this hits the mental health differently and causes one to think, and overthinking affects the mental health.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center