Decision-making and the difficulties that come with it.

Hello, everyone.

Welcome to my blog and another wonderful edition of the Hive Learners' featured post. Decision-making is like being between four hard walls; you have no idea what lies on the other end, and you are confused about which side of the wall you want to break. For every decision we make, we are either happy in the end or sad, which is why we must think twice before taking any decision. My mom will always say how your tomorrow will be depends on the decisions you make today.

Screenshot_20240117-144213.png
designed in canva.

Everyone tries to be as careful as possible when it comes to decision-making; the decisions you make can either make you or break you. Decision-making is one difficult task every human has to deal with. There's no escape route for it unless you are comfortable with your current situation, but if not, you have to decide on ways that can help elevate you and push you towards your dream life. Decision-making is difficult; it becomes worse when someone or people who are supposed to be in accord with you have a different opinion about how things should be done.

It's in human nature to always hold one accountable when things fail to go as planned, which is why when individuals have different opinions about a project, it's difficult to make a decision on which opinion to work with. The one whose opinion was set aside will be there to hold their counterpart accountable if things go sideways. Decision-making is very difficult; it's easier when everyone has the same opinion, which is very hard to come by.

steps I take in decision-making.
  • Check the pros and cons: Every decision we make has both advantages and disadvantages. Here, I try to see if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages; this is what will determine if I should go ahead or put it on hold. If the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, then there is no need to go ahead.

  • Risk involved: The risk involved is that if things go sideways, will I be able to recover or will I have to pay heavily? Sometime back, I made the decision to invest my house rent and school fee in shitcoins, and I paid heavily for it. That period was a trying time for me, but I was able to pull through, and since then, I always check the risks involved.

How long does it take me to make a major decision?

Like I said earlier, the decisions we make today can either make us tomorrow or break us tomorrow, which is why we must be careful about every decision. I really cannot say how long it takes me to make a decision. I ponder it, make sure I have weighed the pros and cons, and ask people who know better than me if I am comfortable with it before I decide to push through.

If things go sideways, How do I cope?

Nothing hurts the heart more than things not going as planned. Whenever things don't go as planned, I just tell myself they weren't made to happen, then I try to check and see how and where I got it wrong, then use a different strategy next time.

Thanks for reading my post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now