MAKING MY FIRST 2K Naira AS A KID

The act of job hunting is one way of knowing wether or not an individual has grown up to a stage of being directly or indirectly independent on their parents.

Img src

I started working at the at of 9 when I had to prove my independence to my family. My first job was not easy at all as it was a very stressful job to do.

Growing up as an African kid in a black home, I believed that - only the strong and smart ones can survive this world and I believe that the unfairness of life is a way of bringing in strong alpha males to the society who will not only provide for the next generation, but also protect them. Based on this fact, I sought to gain independence at a very young age.

Wanna know my first job?

My first job was in Sabon Tasha, Kaduna. By then I was still a kid and I had to apply to be a delivery man.

How it went for me?

It was pretty much stressful ya'know. Kids of my age were in school but I, due to some circumstances and my motivation needed to be independent and make more money. I wouldn't lie, emotionally I was not okay because I was seeing students braging of their grades in school and all that but me? I was a delivery man or should I say: "boy."
Oh No What GIF by Tennis TV
I had to carry bear (drink) from one destination to another in a wheelbarrow. It was tough yaknow and very much hectic as well but I thank God that I pulled through.

Why I left

I left the work because I saw a less stressful work that paid more money and because my boss's wife was not accommodating.

I had to leave the job for a greener pasture, where we baked varieties of food and by so doing, I started making more money than usual. In a week, I was making about 3-4k with daily feeding(as a kid). It was fun there but I had to relocate to the east.

Lessons I got from my first job.

First of all, I became wiser in the aspect of business and I learnt how to attract customers to a particular product.

Additionally, I learnt to always forsake any under paying job for a sure greener pasture😎

Next, I also learnt not to force myself on anyone who is not willing to accommodate me.

Furthermore, I learnt not to trust anyone when it comes to business. Everyone is my friend and everyone is my greatest enemy when speaking of business.

Lastly, I learnt that hard and smart work will always yield good results.

To crown it all, if I'm given an opportunity to go back to my previous job, I will not go back because, from my perspective, I have past that developmental stage and going back will only mean that I am going back to a past stage. The lessons that stage gas to offer have been successfully learnt and there is nothing more to gain from that stage.

Thank you for reading.

I hope to o see you next time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center