A Reflection On My Real Name (Preye)

Hello Friends,

jpg_20230708_162906_0000.jpg
Designed on Canva

Another Interesting contest topic from the Hive Learners community's moderators. For this article, I would be telling us about my real name and the little challenges that comes with it.



My Real Name And It's Meaning

The real name given to me by my Parents is Called Preye, which means all my life I have used Preye Amaran as the name in my credentials and documents.

The name Preye has been with me since birth. As I reflect on it, I realize how important it is to me and how it has shaped my identity. It has its origins in my family's culture and history, and I am proud to carry my name with me through life.


The Meaning Behind My Name

I've always found the meaning behind my name to be quite beautiful and powerful. As an Ijaw name commonly used by the Bayelsa people, Preye means "God's gift". Knowing this has always made me feel special and unique.

Growing up, I would often ask my parents about the significance of my name and what inspired them to choose it for me. They would always remind me of the importance of gratitude and being thankful for all the blessings in life.

my-name-is-1185862_1280.jpg
Free From Pixabay

My name was a constant reminder of that sentiment, and as I've grown older, I've come to appreciate the depth and meaning behind my name even more. It serves as a daily reminder to be grateful for the things I have and to approach life with a positive outlook.

I've also come to realize that names are an integral part of our identities and can have a profound impact on how we see ourselves and how others see us. My name, Preye, reflects my cultural heritage and identity, which is something that I take pride in.

Knowing the meaning behind my name has given me a deeper understanding of who I am and where I come from. It's a small but significant part of my identity, and I wouldn't want it to be any other way.

Infact, my name has already helped me to meet one of the most important individual in my life (My tribal lecturer teaching in my school outside Bayelsa state).

Although I am proud of my name, they is a certain misconception I would like to address about it.

Anything I Would Like To Change About My Name

If I were to answer this question in one sentence, it would be that "I would want to change the way some people pronounce and spell my name."

One of the biggest challenges I have faced with my given name, "Preye," is the difficulty people have with pronouncing and spelling it correctly. I often hear variations of my name, ranging from "Perry" to "Priya" to "Pray." This can be frustrating and can make me feel like my identity is not being acknowledged or respected.

I understand that my name comes from the Ijaw tribe in Nigeria, and that it is not a common name outside of that culture. I have tried to help people with the pronunciation, but it seems to still be a challenge for many.

It can be difficult to constantly correct people or explain the pronunciation, and it can be exhausting to feel like my name is a burden for others.

In some situations, I have opted for a nickname instead of using my full name. This can be a solution to make it easier for people to remember or pronounce, but it also feels like a compromise.

I want to be able to use my real name with pride and without feeling like it is causing confusion or inconvenience

social-network-2187996_1280.jpg
Free From Pixabay

I have also noticed that there are often misconceptions and stereotypes associated with African names. People may assume that my name is difficult to pronounce or that it has a specific meaning without taking the time to ask or understand.

I want my name to be appreciated and celebrated for its cultural significance, as it is a part of my identity and reflects my cultural heritage.

I have even cautioned a course mates of mine who initially thought that his only aim and target in School was to study his books. I told home that we are equally here to build character and study other people's cultures (their cultural names included).

I hope that with time and education, more people will be able to recognize and respect the importance of diverse names and cultures.


I would conclude by saying thank you for staying tuned till the end, I really appreciate lovelies ❤️:-)

hPb2XtKwBGiwRzkrzveR1sSPznD4Wv2miQhHXdT4AQFLAHVju1TpGRgMUAWx4TjMQNSymS6oPMwcqYXTTvkcAhH3J8QiN9ecZyKMhTmYd1VoxUFcFZRyHfLeimcQNi...x16yPRPtxjytHVgnK3PQQmEh8z2KpF5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png


PORTUGUESE

hPb2XtKwBGiwRzkrzveR1sSPznD4Wv2miQhHXdT4AQFLAHVju1TpGRgMUAWx4TjMQNSymS6oPMwcqYXTTvkcAhH3J8QiN9ecZyKMhTmYd1VoxUFcFZRyHfLeimcQNi...x16yPRPtxjytHVgnK3PQQmEh8z2KpF5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

Olá amigos

Outro tópico interessante do concurso dos moderadores da comunidade Hive Learners. Para este artigo, eu estaria nos contando sobre meu nome verdadeiro e os pequenos desafios que o acompanham.



Meu verdadeiro nome e seu significado

O nome verdadeiro dado a mim por meus pais é chamado Preye, o que significa que durante toda a minha vida usei Preye Amaran como o nome em minhas credenciais e documentos.

O nome Preye está comigo desde o nascimento. Ao refletir sobre isso, percebo o quanto é importante para mim e como moldou minha identidade. Tem suas origens na cultura e na história da minha família, e tenho orgulho de levar meu nome comigo por toda a vida.


O significado por trás do meu nome

Sempre achei o significado por trás do meu nome muito bonito e poderoso. Como um nome Ijaw comumente usado pelo povo Bayelsa, Preye significa "presente de Deus". Saber disso sempre me fez sentir especial e único.

Enquanto crescia, costumava perguntar a meus pais sobre o significado do meu nome e o que os inspirou a escolhê-lo para mim. Eles sempre me lembrariam da importância da gratidão e de ser grato por todas as bênçãos da vida.

my-name-is-1185862_1280.jpg
Free From Pixabay

Meu nome era um lembrete constante desse sentimento e, à medida que envelheci, passei a apreciar ainda mais a profundidade e o significado por trás do meu nome. Serve como um lembrete diário para ser grato pelas coisas que tenho e abordar a vida com uma perspectiva positiva.

Também percebi que os nomes são parte integrante de nossas identidades e podem ter um impacto profundo em como nos vemos e como os outros nos veem. Meu nome, Preye, reflete minha herança cultural e identidade, algo de que me orgulho.

Saber o significado por trás do meu nome me deu uma compreensão mais profunda de quem eu sou e de onde venho. É uma parte pequena, mas significativa da minha identidade, e não gostaria que fosse de outra forma.

De fato, meu nome já me ajudou a conhecer uma das pessoas mais importantes da minha vida (meu professor tribal ensinando em minha escola fora do estado de Bayelsa).

Embora eu tenha orgulho do meu nome, é um certo equívoco que gostaria de abordar sobre isso.


Qualquer coisa que eu gostaria de mudar sobre o meu nome

Se eu fosse responder a essa pergunta em uma frase, seria: "Gostaria de mudar a forma como algumas pessoas pronunciam e escrevem meu nome".

Um dos maiores desafios que enfrentei com meu nome de batismo, "Preye", é a dificuldade que as pessoas têm em pronunciá-lo e soletrar corretamente. Muitas vezes ouço variações do meu nome, variando de "Perry" a "Priya" a "Pray". Isso pode ser frustrante e fazer com que eu sinta que minha identidade não está sendo reconhecida ou respeitado.

Eu entendo que meu nome vem da tribo Ijaw na Nigéria, e que não é um nome comum fora dessa cultura. Já tentei ajudar as pessoas com a pronúncia, mas ainda parece ser um desafio para muitos.

Pode ser difícil corrigir constantemente as pessoas ou explicar a pronúncia, e pode ser cansativo sentir que meu nome é um fardo para os outros.

Em algumas situações, optei por um apelido em vez de usar meu nome completo. Esta pode ser uma solução para tornar mais fácil para as pessoas lembrarem ou pronunciarem, mas também parece um meio-termo.

Quero poder usar meu nome verdadeiro com orgulho e sem sentir que isso está causando confusão ou inconveniência.

social-network-2187996_1280.jpg
Free From Pixabay

Também notei que muitas vezes há equívocos e estereótipos associados a nomes africanos. As pessoas podem presumir que meu nome é difícil de pronunciar ou que tem um significado específico sem perder tempo perguntando ou entendendo.

Quero que meu nome seja apreciado e celebrado por seu significado cultural, pois faz parte de minha identidade e reflete minha herança cultural.

Eu até adverti alguns colegas meus que inicialmente pensaram que seu único objetivo e alvo em Scholl era estudar seus livros. Eu disse para casa que estamos aqui igualmente para construir caráter e estudar as culturas de outras pessoas (incluindo seus nomes culturais).

Espero que com tempo e educação, mais pessoas possam reconhecer e respeitar a importância de diversos nomes e culturas.


Eu concluiria dizendo obrigado por ficarem atentos até o fim, eu realmente aprecio meus amores ❤️:-)

Thanks for your time here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now