Some Friends Are True Gift in Life

You see, I'm amazed at the circle of friends I am blessed with. I have quite a few friends who are truly gems. Friends who love, care, and sacrifice unconditionally, and just in case you feel you can't find true friends out there, you may need to have a change of thought. It is great when you meet someone who is genuine and wants nothing in return but your happiness and the good things you share to keep life going. I have been opportuned to blog about 3 of my amazing friends on this platform on different topics. Believe me when I say that I am blessed with awesome friends; it's just the truth. I can equally call them a treasure; that is who they are.

png_20230302_155253_0000.png

Image designed using canva app

True friends grows overtime, most times you find some traits common among close friends. some friends are just passer-by, you can't force that exceptional closeness, it just happens naturally with time. Human beings do have casual friends at so many points in their lives, some friends come and go but those that sticks with us, even distance can never be a barrier. They are always available to assist when needed. Friendship is all about caring, support, etc., so when you have a good friend, hold them firmly because they are life savers most times.

For this contest, I will share with you on my first encounter with one of my close friends and how the meeting helped my life

Victor was my coursemate back then in the university. He is a guy with disabled legs. I met him lying helplessly in pain. I inquired and he opened up to me. He said he wasn't disabled from birth but at age 12, he had an attack in the dream where a woman struck his legs, he woke up with severe wounds on the legs. They began treatment but at the end of the day, his legs became disabled. He still walks with it but staggers while walking. So almost every 3 months, he receives sharp pains in those legs and it lasts for hours before he can be relieved a bit- glad I met him that day. I assisted him on things he needed, he also wanted to travel home to see his parents for some herbal treatment on the legs. I made sure to help him until he boarded a vehicle.

It took him 1month before he returned back to school. By then, so much lectures had gone, it was difficult for him to cope for the upcoming quizzes. I also assisted him by discussing some of the courses with him to a simpler understanding and he was excited. We wrote and passed the quizzes with amazing grades....this was the beginning of our friendship.

IMG_20230302_174500.jpg
Image source

Victor became my close friend, he is a good listener, so kind , intelligent and humble. My course requires lots of practicals and he was so good with it. I had little issue with some of the practical but my encounter with Victor changed everything. I would buy extra materials and he takes his time to guide me until I could do them with my hands perfectly. I was so happy with our friendship, we became even closer to share some of our personal burdens...I remember victor playing a big role in my life when my relationship with my husband now (then fiance) was shaking. He advised me like a man he is and the result was positive.

We graduated from the university in 2013, but our friendship remains strong till date. When I got a job in Abuja immediately after my project defence, I called on him, assisted him somehow and he got same job too. We began working in the same hospital and became closer the more. I finally got married and relocated to Lagos state Nigeria, victor travelled all the way from Abuja to Enugu state just to grace my wedding occasion. My husband loved him so much cos I told him everything about victor and I . Victor is married too now, with a son, his wife and I are good friends at the moment. I am sure with the way our friendship are waxing stronger, even our children might mingle with each other in the future, just maybe.

This post was inspired by the #hivelearners community on the topic titled The First Encounter

20230226_220017_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center