Living the Rural and Urban Life: The Ups, Downs, and My Choice

road-gf3b5db849_1920.jpg

I grew up in the rural area; in fact, it was marriage that brought me to the urban neighborhood, so you can imagine how long I have lived in both environments with diverse experiences so far. Having said that, stay tuned with me while I share my thoughts based on my experience in both urban and rural settings, including the advantages and the disadvantages, wrapping it up with my choice of preference between the two settings.

When you talk of the rural areas, talk about the tranquility and comfort; the serene environment is quite calming to the system. The natural vegetation, the opportunity to grow your food and eat more of fresh food and fruits always from the farm. The low cost of living; the cheaper house rent for people without accommodation. In fact, life is so easy in the rural areas, but then there are many disadvantages, which I experienced.

Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-13-17-39_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpgScreenshot_2023-02-02-23-10-59-21_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

In terms of the health sector, there are lots of shortcomings. You can hardly see a well-equipped hospital with competent medical personnel to attend to critical issues or emergencies. According to my mom, giving birth to me after my twin brother came out was a tug of war, and they had to rush her to the city after many hours before I came out. It was grace that spared her life and that of mine. You see, some mothers have lost their lives due to a lack of good medical attention in rural areas when complications arise, and it's indeed a concern..

Schools are much available, but how well are they doing? It's practically nothing to write home about back then anyway, but it has improved lately. If you take a look at where it's called the science laboratory in the rural areas, you will think it's once a shrine, lolz, but we all graduated like that, but I must tell you that competing with my mates in the university came with extra and extra effort. Nothing beats being exposed practically with experiences; unfortunately, you can hardly get quality education in the rural areas.

The poor network, causing limitations to access the internet, is also a concern, at least in my hometown;the rural area, the bad roads in some places, and the lack of good water in most cases. All these are some limitations I encountered living in the rural areas, which most places in the rural areas still face to date, but at least in my hometown, there have been drastic developments so far.

Screenshot_2023-02-02-23-15-52-60_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

The urban neighborhood, on the other hand, has been a place I live since 10 years ago, with its ups and downs also. The conveniences I enjoy here make it attractive; however, the violence is always an issue, especially here in Lagos State, where tugs are scattered all over the place looking for who to extort from. However, I wouldn't deny the fact that there are many opportunities here. The exposure and the technology we enjoy cannot be compared to the rurals.

Life in urban areas is easy and comfortable. I have received great medical attention in the midst of health complications. Many schools here are well equipped, as long as you can afford it. The transportation system is quite easy to access, even though traffic jams wouldn't let one breathe well. Access to good water is here; the electricity supply is still better here; the many civilized people to whom you can learn one thing or two and be more exposed as you continue to socialize with others; and many more good perks of living in the city amidst its demerits as well. The noisy environment most times can get one crazy. Overall, life is good if one can find a balance.

road-gf3b5db849_1920.jpg

Most people love the rural areas, but they are against it when it comes to the network, technology, and lack of health care facilities. What if these developments gradually enter the rural areas and all things in the urban areas are also seen in the rural areas? I guess then rural areas will be flooded by people, hahaha.

Having shared my experience with both the urban and the rural settings, I think both are good in a way if we see from different points of view. It actually depends on us which one is suitable for us, but sincerely, urban lifestyle seems cool to me.

Image source for the first and last image. All other images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center