Beyond Fame: The Celebs I Admire

There are many celebrities I really love and admire their work, but going crazy for celebs is not just part of my lifestyle. I attended an event in Lekki here in Lagos State two years ago where we had two celebrities honor the event as well. I was so surprised to see adults struggling to take pictures with these celebrities. You know, I used to think that it's only children that used to be celebrity freaks, but I have been wrong, lol. Some people see these celebrities as one god; I don't understand, but how adults struggle just to be beside these celebrities on that day baffled me.

FB_IMG_1726929341074.jpg
Mercy chinwo

Like I mentioned earlier, I love and admire the works of many celebrities, but I’m not just the kind of person that goes crazy because of a celebrity. I see them as a normal human being as well, pursuing their own career while I do mine. In my first parish here in Lagos, I was invited with my husband to the high table to unveil our harvest brochure with one other couple and a youth, but immediately the harvest chairman saw Yul Edochie (a Nigerian celebrity) inside the church; almost just as he arrived very late to the church on that day, he called on him to join us on the stage for the unveiling. You needed to see how the congregation was clapping for him, hailing him, and all that, maybe because of the anticipated big money he was about to donate for the unveiling, but that's just how many people get crazy when they see celebrities as if they are extra humans. Well, I am super cool with this category of humans with their careers, but I don't see myself going crazy because of them. At the end of the unveiling, we took pictures together, including the celebrity, and I only saw the pictures in the harvest brochure and never killed myself looking for a single copy for my personal use. That's just a little of how I don't get crazy when it comes to celebrities.

However, if I must really get crazy on any of these celebs, then it should be Mercy Chinwo and GUC.

FB_IMG_1726929470675.jpg
GUC

I can go crazy for them because of how much their songs impact my life spiritually. Honestly, at a point, I thought of becoming their backup singers—just anything to make me closer to them so I could really understand how they get their deep inspiration while ministering songs to the world. I see these two celebs as role models as well, due to how some of their lifestyle just speaks of mine, and each time I watch their performances, I feel this inner peace. There's one video mercy shot the other time when she released "Obinasom". Wow..the concept, and everything about this video is simply nice. If you see me smiling when a song is just about to start, maybe that song is from any of these celebs. Finally, how they are always modestly dressed while performing on the stage is another thing I can't express how much I love.

Here, you have it! If there are celebrities I should go crazy for, then it's these two unique people for the reasons I mentioned above.

This post is in response to the #hivelearners community contest on the topic titled, A Celeb I Stan.

Images from these sources below 👇

SOURCE 1

SOURCE 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now