Some Friends Are For Life: How I Met My Best Friend

Hello everyone!
I hope you’re enjoying your day and Happy month to you all. I wish everyone a month of love and peace.

I’m very delighted to take part in the second edition of this weeks hive learners contest. For this edition: The First Encounter.

image designed by me on canva

It’s funny reading how some people met their best friends but with all that, the positives outweigh the negatives so it was worth all the drama.

We all have people in our lives and they all serve different purposes. Some to help us develop, others to teach us lessons while others are just there to do their own thing lol. But with all these, life still goes on.

I’m someone who doesn’t have a lot of friends in my life. Aside my parents and acquaintances, I have about just a handful of friends.
I’m a very picky person when it comes to friendship and throughout my life I’ve lived in a neighborhood where everyone was busy with their own lives so we barely had time for neighbors and all of that.

Growing up, I realised it was good we stayed in such a neighborhood because I have been to other places and I’ve seen what goes on there. I don’t think I would have been able to handle all of that because one thing I value most is my peace of my.

I think the above are reason enough for you to understand why I do not have a lot of friends. I feel so blessed for the friends I have in my life. They’re one in a million and I always thank God for putting them in my life.

Today I’m going to tell you about how I met my closest and only female friend so grab a seat cos you’re in for a ride.I know she will be mad at me for doing this. She will be like ‘Nhaji you’re spoiling my market’.😂
Oh yes Priscilla let me spoil your market today.😂

This beautiful creature goes by the name Priscilla. Behind all this beauty and everything you’re seeing lies a very sweet , gentle, caring and very annoying soul.

Our first encounter was in the university. I had just started the first semester of my first year in the university and anyone from afar could see how confused and annoyed I was then.

It was my first time having a change of environment. I travelled over 18 hours just to come to a school where everything looked out of place to me. I didn’t know anyone and so I was really struggling. I didn’t even know my way to class and to add to all that I was staying in my hostel room alone. It was cool at first but as time went by I started to get bored because I was always alone.

Then, one Saturday God sent Priscilla my way. I was sleeping around 1:00pm when I heard a knock on the door. I was so pissed because who wants to ruin my sleep at this time of the day.

I got up to open the door only to find two men and one smallish girl at the door. The older man told me they wanted a room for his daughter so they wanted to check the place out. I didn’t have a choice because it was the schools hostel.
What I was saying in my head was ‘I hope she’s not annoying’.😂

Turns out she’s one of the few people that can really get on my nerves.

Long story short, after checking the room out this girl had the audacity to tell me to reserve the top bed for her because she doesn’t know when she would report to school.
In my head once again’ this girl is not serious 😂😂’

I just said okay to her and opened the door for her to leave.
Two whole weeks passed and this so called Priscilla girl hadn’t reported. So much for a fresher. I was expecting two other roommates since we were to be four in the room. They had reported by then and we were getting along well.

I came back from class the next day to meet Priscilla in the room. As soon as I saw her I went like ‘ this girl has finally arrived’. I didn’t realize I said it out loud. We all laughed over it but little did we know Priscilla was offended. I bet she even cried.
I later found she was offended and I apologised to her on behalf of all those in the room when it happened.

From the day she arrived on campus, my life took a drastic turn. I found a friend and a sister in her. I never thought I would ever meet someone like Priscilla in my life. I would go to the moon and back for her.

This is how I met my Priscilla.😅
I hope you enjoyed reading this. Enjoy your day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center