Junk Food Has To Go

Good morning dear friends. It's a pleasure to be here again this new year. You all know that every new year, we make our plan on how we hope to sail through the year to achieve set goals. Here, I have decided to give up on junk food. My eating habits have been greatly affected by my proximity to a fast food restaurant to my office and at other times, when I work outside of the metropolis, I only buy junk food to keep body and soul together. You all know the side effects of junk food on our individual health and since I am approaching the age where I need to cater for my physical well being, there is a need to begin to look inward. That's exactly what I plan to do in this new calendar year. Here is how I intend to defeat my demon. The demon that has made me stick with junk over the years.

IMG_20210803_075453_712.jpg

Setting A Clear Goal

I have put in place a realistic goal for myself, such as staying away from junk food for at least six days a week. This is a very hard goal but if I put my mind to it, I would achieve this goal. I would simply take my heart and eyes away from the fascinating meals that are advertised by the restaurants.

Developing a Meal Plan

To make things a lot easier with this change, I will create a well-balanced meal plan that includes nutritious and delicious alternatives to junk food. They will help me stay motivated and prevent cravings. This may require a professional involvement which may cost me some financial implication but I would rather consult ebooks to find what suits my financial ability.

Stocking Healthy Snacks

You wonder if there could be healthy snacks away from pastries, yes, there are. I will stock up on healthy snacks like fruits, nuts, and veggies to replace my usual junk food options. This way, I will have nutritious alternatives readily available when cravings strike. In my country, Nigeria, there are fruits that only exist as seasonal. I am very much aware that these fruits serve some very important role in the lives of humans. For every season, the available fruit will be my recipe in fighting this war against junk food.

Seeking Help

Many times, peer influences may endanger a good goal close pals are not aware of. So, I will share my commitment with close friends and request that they support me while understanding my stand on this matter. With this move, my friends could serve as a watchdog that would prevent me from breaking my rules and can help hold me accountable and offer encouragement when I feel tempted.

IMG_20210926_074259_20.jpg

Finding Alternative Activities

Developing a healthier eating habit may require that I find new activities that would distract me from the desire to consume junk food. I will engage in activities like exercising, pursuing hobbies or reading. Engaging in these activities will help me reduce cravings and develop new eating habits. I will pay attention to my hunger cues and practise mindful eating. This involves savouring each bite, eating slowly, and focusing on the nutritional value of the food I am consuming.

Celebrating Milestones

Along the way to achieving this resolution, I will from time to time celebrate my achievement by rewarding myself with a non-food treat or engaging in a relaxing activity I enjoy. Stuff like buying an apron for preparing my food in the kitchen will definitely be a morale booster.

Reflecting on Progress

Assessment will be employed regularly on this journey, it will help me stay motivated. What I would be assessing will be how giving up junk food has positively impacted my health, mood and energy levels.

What will I miss?
Giving up junk food requires sacrifice. I will definitely miss the immediate pleasure that comes with indulging in my favourite junk foods.
Another thing I will miss is the convenience and familiarity of reaching for chips and candy whenever I want a quick snack.
Also, I may miss the social aspect of sharing these foods with others during gatherings or parties.
However, despite these temporary losses, I am confident that the long-term benefits of giving up junk food will outweigh the fleeting moments of enjoyment it provides.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments