I want to do this again. 

I was telling my Hive girlfriend @nhaji01 about how much I love traveling and how she's living my dreams for me because I realized she traveled more than I do. Honestly, if not for the financial aspect, I would have loved to travel all around the world. But I believe I will still do that one day.
I've not really been in so many places, but the last time I traveled was because of competition, and I will say that I didn't regret traveling.

IMG-20240927-WA0038.jpg

It's a university game, and it only happens every four years. As I was told that I would be seconding my athletes in the competitions, I started packing my bags. The competition is scheduled for nine days. Which is more than a week, although I only spent seven days in the competitions with them.

Well, I packed my load, and then I started my journey. I traveled two days after my students were already in the camp. My journey was so stressful, I got to the venue late evening. From the first day, I got to the venue. I've been so happy to see a lot of people, and since it's all African university games, I've got the chance to meet not just Nigerians but also more people around the African countries.
Let's talk about their food. On a normal occasion or outing, you will not see me eating other food apart from Nigerian food. But there I was able to eat different food from different countries.

I just want to make sure I did not go there without knowing more about everything there. Apart from the fact that I ate different kinds of food.
I also meet different kinds of people; the first country I came into contact with is Egypt. We did a taekwondo program together; it was a referee course, and we took pictures together. I must say that it's so beautiful talking to them.

IMG-20240924-WA0016.jpg
The only country that caught my attention is Ghana. I must say that I really love them; they are so playful, and the competitions were so fun because of them. I normally don't like going to the kitchen to take dinner; this is because I have to trek ten minutes there and ten minutes back. Most especially if I eat there, the food would have digested before getting to the place I'm going to. But the day I went to the kitchen to collect food, that was the day I realized I've been missing a lot.

There are DJs that play nice songs; the day I went, I met the Ghanaian dancing to their songs, and in fact, it's so nice. I spent more than two hours at the kitchen just looking at what was going on.
Since that day, I dare not skip dinner. Meanwhile I also met some people that I like; one is a Portuguese lady; she happens to be a champion in table tennis, but unfortunately I couldn't communicate in her language, and she doesn't understand English. I tried speaking to her via Google Translator, but it's not as easy as it seems.

Everything I've mentioned is just a few of the things I experienced in the competitions. And if you ask me if I will go if I have the chance, honestly, I will gladly open my arm to it again because I wish we didn't finish the competition in the first place.

Images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center