A failed system and corrupt leadership.

<div class=text-justify

I was reading a news article a few days ago and read the part that a guy was killed by the police officer in Ilorin Kwara State, to be precise. What was his offense? No offense at all. Perhaps he is dressing too nice or has refused to cooperate. I could remember I spent a year of service in ilorin. And it was hell. I meant you can't even go out. I could not count how many times the police have stopped me even though I hadly gone out. And my offense is because I look too good. Oh yeah. Welcome to Nigeria.

pexels-photo-6257694.jpeg

Before we move too far, what is democracy again? I thought it's the government for people! Maybe I'm wrong because what we are practicing in my country is beyond military rules.

Let me start with the least problem we are facing in my country; of course I will call it the least. Police harassment is like a normal thing in my country. In fact, they kill people like goats. And there is no justice for it.
I was coming from a journey last week, and an officer told me to enter the vehicle. I asked, for what, sir? Then I checked myself, and I realized I'd dressed too well. I realized I was carrying a school bag. Oh dear. That was my offense. In my country, you don't dress too nice. Because if you do. You will be killed.

I could remember when things were too tough in my country; that was the year 2020. There was a peaceful protest held in one state in my country. Because the government couldn't meet the demand of their people, they took their lives instead. Democracy or crazy demo? No one will ever forget the bloodshed in the year 2020 at the Lekki toll gate. But then what has been done to the situation? Absolutely nothing.
The government has never listened to us for a second. It has to be the opposite side all the time. I mean, who should care about their own citizens if not them? Well, that was the least problem we are facing in my country, if I honestly start talking about democracy in my country. Then I will write five thousand words for just an introduction.

pexels-photo-6257072.jpeg

But no matter what we say, there has never been a good justification.
Nothing is fair in my country; it's always what the leaders want. Last election, I was telling a friend of mine that I don't think youth can ever have a say in Nigeria.

I realized how well the youths stood up then. And how they really want to take over. Well, I knew it would never last. A country where the leaders don't care. Only youths that are ready to die will fight against them. Is that a democracy?
As we speak, we don't have a say anymore. The country is already fucked, and we keep hoping it will be better one day. Well, we just have to keep hoping together.

The prices of things as we speak are currently high, and you will hardly see an average Nigerian who can afford two meals in a day. No one can protest; if you do, you will die. And no one will care about your death.

A country where people love to run away from and become slaves in another country. That how hard my country is. Especially the young ones. They prefer to run away and did not mind going to any country that will give them peace of mind, even though they will become slaves there. Imagine running away from your own house because it's scary to live there.

Image Image 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center