The White Lies I Believed As A Kid

Seeing this featured topic makes me smile and also gives me a lot of flashbacks on my childhood days. Where we were told lots of things by our parents and elderly ones and we believed them cause we have total trust in whatsoever they say to us.

photo-1484973768669-7fb6b5451095.jpeg
Source

As a kid we were told lot of lies and we believed it all which cautioned us from doing certain things and when I remember them now I laugh. Though those white lies really helped, it prevented me from doing lot of drastic things cause once I remember what I've been told about certain things, I dare not do it so as for me not to suffer the repercussions.
2Uw3wR9XRL7QYP4FCz3f59E1k9Zsob4hm8Uh8QfuEYucwndmNRnNid3ekJdFL6ULgMymHJMHw1qZxJRTD9nHjqicp9irzWEnto1c5MaAq8...rL5aQnhEbyuNWNWE9FjTXxMZ1ePXkWHSUzfkhffxnfjj7Go74Enu4X2C5egVzyka1wSC19uCfxcZWubxdaA18czJD2JHHZG8DMT3uvmoZsyCGe27dbSPwUxQYW.png
One of the lies I was told as a kid was never to swallow orange seeds. I was told if I swallowed it, orange tree will start growing on my head, so whenever I'm taking Oranges, I'm always conscious of the seeds. The day I mistakenly swallowed orange seed, I cried as if the world is coming to an end and to make the matter worst Mom was making jest of me. She announced to people around the house that her daughter head will start growing oranges now, so people shouldn't waste their money to buy Oranges from the market again, when I heard that OMG 😱....my crying tone increased.

Later, Dad came around and he told me another lie, he said the only solution was for me to drink three cups of water, that the seed will dissolve and its won't grow again. Come and see the way I ran to get the water, so I drank it and feel relieved. I didn't know I was fooled, but I believed Dad cause the orange tree didn't grow, so I was extremely happy that his solution worked🤣
2Uw3wR9XRL7QYP4FCz3f59E1k9Zsob4hm8Uh8QfuEYucwndmNRnNid3ekJdFL6ULgMymHJMHw1qZxJRTD9nHjqicp9irzWEnto1c5MaAq8...rL5aQnhEbyuNWNWE9FjTXxMZ1ePXkWHSUzfkhffxnfjj7Go74Enu4X2C5egVzyka1wSC19uCfxcZWubxdaA18czJD2JHHZG8DMT3uvmoZsyCGe27dbSPwUxQYW.png
Other lies I was told was that it's a taboo to sit on mortar that if you do, bad luck will be following the person all around. I so much believed this that, I don't always go near our mortal (so that I won't mistake it for a stool in the kitchen) unless if we want to use it for pounding yam and once we are through, I will return it back to it place. On a long run, I later discovered there is nothing about the mortal taboo at all, but we were been taught how to take good care of the pounding item and to maintain good hygiene.

I also remember another terrible lie that says one shouldn't cross the leg of a pregnant woman while sitting. Cause if you do that the child or children in her womb will definitely resemble you in character and every other traits you might possession. So I'm always extra careful not to do that, but whenever I mistakenly do that, I will feel like I've committed the greatest crime and will start praying within me that the unborn child shouldn't resemble oooo 🤣🤣 so that the mother won't deal with me whenever she gives birth.

Although, I later realized no truth in those lies when I become a teenager but childhood days was an amazing time which was filled with so much fun. Those white lies really helped me to have good manners but I still can't believe I was told all those things and I believed in them🤣.

Thanks for reading my blog!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center