Mistakes isn't a respecter of age

Parents are very important in a child's life, whether biological or foster parents; they play vital roles in the lives of their kids. The home is the first learning center of every child and parents stand as the tutor, they help kids learn the right from the wrong and most times, one can know the behavior of a parents through their kids.

When a child lacks parental guidance, you will surely know with the way that child behaves in the society. I can categorically say that the main problem of the world today in which the society is filled with lots of nuisances that are disturbing the peace of the society was caused by failed parenting.

photo-1529079018732-bdb88456f8c2.jpeg
Source
When a child isn't corrected while been a child, when such child becomes an adult, he or she tends to live carelessly without having an aorta of responsibilities. Good parents never stops acting as a guide to their children even when they are fully grown and already married.

Times without number my parents have been of great help to me, though my Dad also did a great job while I was growing up, but my Mom has been my close pal since childhood and I find it more convenient to talk to her than my Dad. But their advice has helped me at every stage of my life and is still helping me till today and I can't thank God enough for blessing me with them.

But as human beings, we can't always be right in our decision making. Some parents doesn't know that mistake isn't a respecter of age, some advise might gone either right or wrong. One thing with African parents is that, they always claim to be right and their children must follow whatever they say and you can't antagonize them, once you point out your parents or elderly ones error they tag the younger fellow a rebellious child, all you have to do is just to agree and see what the outcome will be.

When my parents were right

After my promotional exam from Jss 1 to Jss 2 my parents concluded within themselves the department I will go for in senior school will be science though they aren't dictators, but it's because of how I've been doing excellently well in some subjects and I've been failing business studies.

At first, I thought it was a joke, I was like I can still do well in business studies but when I saw the reality while I was going to Jss 3 then I knew what my parents had been telling me is the truth, and if care isn't taken I might fail the subject woefully and have to resit my Junior exam.

So my parents decided I should take extra moral classes and had to pay the teacher additional fee because of Business studies so as for me to be able to have at least a credit in the subject in my Junior certificate examinations. I thank God they made that decision for me or else I might have to resit the exam all because of the business studies. On the long run, my results was ok and I had a credit in business studies.

photo-1541695226403-a09aa08e5135.jpeg
Source

When my parents were wrong

During my undergraduate days, I heard about one internship program in my state and that those that qualify will be taking to south-west region in Nigeria. So I told my parents that I intend to apply for the program to see if I might be luck to be selected.

I was surprised my parents declined and told me that all those internship program are political propaganda, that they've already taken those they needed but only publicize it so that their selections won't be questioned.

I believed my parents and didn't applied for it, only for me to heard that lots of people were selected even without knowing any politician or anybody whatsoever.

The most painful thing is that, some people were even privileged to run the program in my state. My parents were wrong for thinking that the internship program was a political propaganda, I was heartbroken but I can't do anything about it. I just have to accept my fate.

Thanks for reading my post🥰

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center