A Kind Of Betrayal: Eleojo

When the topic of betrayal is brought up, I can always relate on every level because I've had my own fair share of this 'cake'.

Permit me to take you back in time a little bit, to over 4 years ago, I had this friend who lived on same street as me, her name was Eleojo(not her real name)

winter-4721902_1280.jpg

Pixabay

Though we lived in several houses away from each other, I and Eleojo did everything together, we were practically like sisters, even closer than sisters.

I made my hair as hers', and she at mine, we went to same church, same school, sat together at school and all that.

With these vivid descriptions of how together we were most of the time, so should understand how shocked I was when Elejo did what she did to me.

Moving forward, I realized she started reclining farther and farther into herself, and refused waiting for me after school. We practically stopped doing things together. I knew something was up, but she wouldn't tell me what it was.

Anytime I got close to her to find out what the matter was with her, she screamed at me like she just saw a ghost or something.

One hot afternoon in September, during one of our holidays, I decided I've kept quiet for too long. It's been two solid weeks since I saw Elejo last, but that day I'd decided I'd had enough of her silent treatment; Her shutting me out when she visibly had a problem that was eating her up real deep was heartbreaking enough.

I stood up from the couch, went to my room, hastily wore my frocks and games out of the house. I had already knocked knuckles off at their big black gate and almost given up when a man clad a security-like uniform came to address me.

broken-heart-6571108_1280.webp

Pixabay

I was surprised, ELO did tell me they had hired a security man. While I waited for him to approach me, my mind kept racing. I felt something was wrong. Then he poked his head out the gate and asked who I was, I told him, and then the shocker came. I asked about Elo, he said they had relocated to Abuja two weeks ago and…..

I couldn't hear the words he said after that, my vision became blurry, as I passed out.

It's been a while now, and there are some questions I still keep asking myself till this day, number one, which is, why would Elo consider something like her being pregnant such a heavy news to tell me, was that the real reason she cut me off or there was more to it? what have I possibly done to her that warranted her relocating from Lagos to Abuja without telling me?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center