A Book Lover Became A Book Smart

This edition topic made me realise once again that I'm no longer the book lover I was before as I do feel lazy to open a book to read for recreational purpose like I do before when I was growing up. My family knew very well how much I loved to read books and how happy I feel when a new book is brought home. My whole life back then was literally about reading books and losing counts of the number of books I loved most.

It made sense why I feel scared easily to face the real world while growing up as I did tend to live in fantasies and mysteries as the books have played a huge part in making me feel that way. Thanks to book reading, I became smart only with books but not so much of street.

20230407_164738_0000.jpg
Image designed here

I'm not saying I'm a zero in being street smart but I know for sure that I didn't get the chance to learn so much in that aspect while growing up. Since mum was never around while we were growing up, dad had to be extra careful with his kids and that led him to having us always stay inside the house to read or see cartoons. I think this was the main foundation to my love for books because dad began to buy different kind of books home, I was also opportune to have friends at school who exchanged books with me.

My ability to read and understand, tell the story of what I read and even give a detailed imagination of what I read made me a book smart in so many ways. My school studies became walk overs for me. I wasn't the best student at school but every teacher in my classes acknowledged that I was smart, book wise. Being a book smart made me a friend to every teacher back then.

I never felt I was lacking anything as a book smart since I could actually put a lot of things I read into practice and I get it done well enough like one who went out in the street to learn it. This ability made me have friends who only helped me to know more as I felt the need to keep reading so I could contribute in sharing my knowledge among my friends. There was almost no conversations back then that I couldn't share my view on, all were knowledge I got from books I read.

Becoming an adult, I've realized how much I missed out on focusing on only my books back then. There became so much to learn from the street as dad feels I know well enough to take care of myself and points out responsibilities that I will have to carry... All these were mostly what I couldn't use just what I learnt from books to conquer and so I appreciated so much my extended education life that took me into the real world to learn better.

Now, I'd say I'm living a life that's balancing the state of being both book and street smart, all thanks to my love to learn new things no matter what form it comes in. I still appreciate the fact that I grew up a book smart as it helped me a lot in my studies and I'm having countless opportunities to learn into the real world.

20230102_181802_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center