The lack of infrastructure in Venezuela: an obstacle to life


MINILACK.png


Without health you cannot live well

This is a publication based on the suggested topic proposed in the Hive Learners community through their discord, which on this occasion is just one infraestructure.


DIVISORFIRMAHIVE502.png

"Old age is not a fact of nature, it is a product of civilization"
<< Simone de Beauvoir >>


To talk about the infrastructure in my country is something extremely extensive and could lead me to explain for hours and hours all the deficiencies we have.

As Venezuelans, we know that we are living a completely difficult financial situation because being under a dictatorial regime, most basic services such as electricity, water, and above all, health, which is the topic I will talk about or mention with more emphasis in this publication, are things that really have too many deficiencies.

It is clear that the national electrical system urgently needs infrastructure because the equipment is extremely deteriorated and although in the capital where I live we do not suffer constant power outages, the rest of the country does not experience the same thing.

The rest of the provinces in Venezuela constantly suffer power outages.

This leads to a very large deterioration in people's quality of life because they cannot collect the products they are selling in their stores, in their shops, so the economy is paralyzed.

People cannot carry out banking operations because the banks do not have electricity to be able to work and the different businesses that operate with electricity.

For example, a business that is dedicated to making milkshakes, a fruit shop, well, a juice shop will not be able to sell its juice because it does have electricity to run its machines that make the juices and so on with the different services.


DIVISORFIRMAHIVE502.png


lightbulb-3104355_1280.jpg
Image from Colin Behrens at Pixabay

So I think that talking about the country's situation, one of the important issues is the electrical factor.

These rulers should really focus on making our lives easier and not only when there is an election season, as happened recently, go out to seek people's votes with promises that I think is a common factor that this week will be noticed in most of the publications about this proposal.

I have also read that several colleagues mention this, friends and inhabitants of Nigeria, Lagos, and other regions of Africa who have these problems with the roads.

Speaking here of my locality, I find that the most important thing at the moment that they should offer is health services.

Where I live, there is a large number of elderly people, and I include myself in that group, who do not have the sufficient financial capacity to be able to afford a private doctor, and the public health services that exist do not have the necessary resources.

For example, I have had an ulcer on my leg for four months that I cannot treat because I do not have the resources to acquire the medicines and the benefits that I obtain there are not enough to be able to get the treatment that I require for this.

Because it is a special treatment and in the local health center that there is in my area, they do not have the resources, they do not have the povidone or the antibiotics to be able to treat me constantly. This simply the only time I went to treat it, they gave me a blister with five ibuprofen and told me that they could not, I did not have anything else, they could not even put me in the ulcer to bandage it or something, and by the way, I had to wait to be seen for about four hours, so that apart from four hours being in that place.


DIVISORFIRMAHIVE502.png


first-aid-kit-1704526_1280.png
Imagen from Ilderson Casu at Pixabay

For me was a very strong experience because the ulcer was bleeding and it hurt me, hurt me, hurt me during all that time.

So it is quite difficult, I think what is needed here is an improvement in infrastructure in health services, quite equipped to attend to the elderly and the different ailments that exist.

Many older people need, for example, wheelchairs and need assistance and do not have it, so I think it is an important factor to consider and also, well, I would say that another thing that is missing is this, to put a popular market that offers food at affordable prices.

Because the markets that currently exist in the area do not offer this advantage of acquiring food at an economic price.

There are activities sponsored and promoted by the government, but the prices they offer are not low enough for an elderly person, an older adult who only has an income of three dollars a month for their pension, can acquire food since with three dollars you can only buy 12 eggs, imagine that and how an elderly person is going to live with only 12 eggs on a month.

We do not have the capacity to buy milk, to buy proteins, to buy vegetables, and currently a market with all the necessary food for a single person, for example, in my case, a 15-day market for me costs around 600 to 700 dollars, and we face this challenge because we do not have the purchasing power to be able to reach this and we are older adults who need this support and do not receive it.

That is why at this level, Venezuelans need all the external support we can receive from people who have more capacity than us and can support us.

So I always encourage you that when you find any Venezuelan, give them your support as best you can because they really need it.

Thank you very much for reading this publication and for participating in this week's initiative.



DIVISORFIRMAHIVEgrande.png

This is my black cat "manclar", this account is to honor his dead (it happened years ago).

firmanclaravatar50.png


Credits:

Thumbnail maded using Bing AI and edited at Canva.com
The text dividers were made by me using aseprite

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center