The Rejection that Ruined my Football Ambition

FB_IMG_1644559220534.jpg
Playing football has always been my greatest source of Joy, I could play ball twice daily during holidays and at least once daily during my high school days. My motivation was simply because I wanted to be a professional footballer.
In a quest to fulfill and achieve my dreams of becoming a professional football, I registered with a football academy in Abuja where I felt I would have a better chance of being scouted by a football club in Europe. Things were going very well, as a striker I was scoring goals for fun; left-footed but effective on my weaker feet too, I was so hopeful and optimistic of getting a chance to impress scouts; the chance eventually came but it was an ugly experience.
It was on the 13th of February 2013 at about 7:30am when a video match was organized with another football academy. In this kind of matches, you have scouts from different clubs across Europe who come to watch and scout players. Fortunately for me, 2 scouts came, one from Chelsea and another from Arsenal. As expected, I led the attack of my team in 4-2-3-1 formation where I netted a brace in a game we lost by 3 goals to 2. You would think I've done my job as a striker right?
But in the end I got the greatest shock of my life as one of the scouts from Arsenal rejected me, stating that my height isn't the kind of striker he would love in his team, the other scout from Chelsea rejected me without stating any reason. It was my worst day since I was born, the rejection drained all the zeal and passion I had for football, for the first few weeks after that I couldn't train. Sadly, the rejection made me to give up on football because I never found the strength to give it another trial.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now