SURVIVAL OF THE FITTEST

Growing up in an underdeveloped environment especially here in my country would probably make you street smart especially when you are schooled in a public school, you are mostly bound to be street smart.

6A6317AE-9ADD-4FF7-B737-B37CB9737F31.png

I went to a public school right from my primary (elementary school) till I graduated, so it is either you are smart or you will regret or hate the rest of your days in school. I live in Lagos, the (rough side) other side of Lagos. If you are not smart here.. you will also hate living here.

So basically, I am street smart. Living around my area smartness is needed in most aspects; in security, in relationships with people, in transportation, in business aspect.. etc. Allow me to give a brief explanation.


In security, you need to be very conscious, if you are not smart enough, you will be robbed on a daily basis.. they are a lot of daredevils, the thief that has no job except stealing and causing trouble.

In the relationship aspect, when I say relationship I don’t mean a romantic relationship, I mean a societal relationship, most people are smart here (wicked smart, if there is a word like that, hehe), if you are not smart you will be ruined, that also apply to business…. it would be hard for you to cheat me because I am heard and have seen the effect.

In transportation hehe.. in my country and particularly where I stay, sometimes you struggle for a bus. If you decided to be calm and be a good girl or boy or whatever, you are technically wasting your time. If you are not smart enough to struggle to enter you will probably wait an extra hour.

untitled.gif

I remember my time in school, hehe. It was hilarious, survival of the fittest. You need to struggle to survive in school, you won’t even see a chair to sit, in because they would literally steal your chair so you have to steal any chair and claimed it and the cycle continues, hehe. I do a lot of things to survive but I do this a lot.

If you are not smart in my school, you probably will end up being bullied or ride or you being cheated. Your food will eaten, the money you were given will be collected, all your books.. oh man, you just need to be smart.

The only time you are kind of relieved and comfortable is when you are either in your Jss3 or Ss3 which is the highest level of junior secondary school and senior secondary school respectively. In one word, I am sure street smart, you can barely outsmart me on the street.

“I grew up in the street, I was born in the street” me in a thick voice. hehe.



Also, I’ll say that I am kinda book smart. I have more reason to build myself to be smart than not. Although I am not part of the known toppers in class but I do perform well. Book smart is what I will say that I am naturally born with but I would be deceiving myself if I say that I did not put effort into it.

Whether you are book smart or street smart, you need to be smart either way. My book smart is brought about generically, and my street smart is brought about by my environment.

There is no how, one would neither be book smart or street smart because it would literally be hard to survive, if not. Feel free to share.. which one are you?



𝒕𝒉𝒂𝒏𝒌𝒔 𝒇𝒐𝒓 𝒓𝒆𝒂𝒅𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒕𝒊𝒍𝒍 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒆𝒏𝒅.


☘︎

Thumbnail designed using canva. Gifs are sponsored by tenor. 

☘︎

☘︎

if you enjoy, kindly follow and engage
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center