LIFE WITHOUT A PHONE

Phone addiction is one of the common addictions, that I have also fallen victim of. About four years ago, I was addicted to my phone or social media because there was nothing on my phone that would distract me except social media. I love my phone so much, I scrolled through my phone with no purpose that I couldn’t focus on anything else.

It was quite hard to get over the addiction to phone, it almost seemed impossible. I had an exam about three years ago that made me lose a little bit of my addiction to phones. I was so keen to pass the examination as I didn’t want to repeat the examination, and this reduced my addiction to phones by about 50%.

IMG_5981.png

As I grew, I began to know how time is priceless, I realized that social media brings nothing to me, well, except pleasure which also comes with time wastage and unproductivity, it was not like I was creating any content or promoting anything on social media. In fact, I was always distracted by my friends and they didn’t add literally any value to my life except from killing my boredom.

I began to lose interest in social media as I wanted to focus on a lot of things outside social media and to get serious with my life. I stylishly cut off everything that would entice me to go into social media. I love it. Well, there were some things I did, in order not to feel the effect of not using my phone, these things I deprived joy from.



One thing that always keeps me off my phone is cooking. Yes, cooking. Cooking is one of my favourite hobbies, it is what I love doing the most. Cooking is something that I can spend hours doing without complaining, when I say cooking, I don’t mean our regular dishes at home

Cooking has always kept me off my phone even when I was still a phone addict. The only thing my phone is quite useful for at that moment is music.

IMG_5885.jpeg

Other things, that served as a replacement for my phone were video games and books. Trust me, video games will rarely make me use my phone, I play any game except from football games I only play Monkey Post, haha, mostly I play adventurous games and they just look like movies. I am a big fan of movies but movies will keep me off social media but not my phone.

Books, I do read novels, fictional novels to be precise. But I mostly read them back then only when I had no battery on my phone or when I had no data subscription. Recently, I read books with full focus regardless of the state of my phone. I am trying to dive into nonfiction books although I love reading fictional novels a lot, it is just like a descriptive movie.

IMG_4346.jpeg

I think all of these still come down to movies, haha, am I this movie addict?

It was not so easy to get over phone addiction, as most of us mostly depend on our phones for a lot of things. But I can say that I can go two to three days without my phone and with no regret.

Thumbnail designed using canva. Images are mine. 


𝑻𝒉𝒂𝒏𝒌𝒔 𝒇𝒐𝒓 𝒓𝒆𝒂𝒅𝒊𝒏𝒈..

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center