The fun time this year.

The last six months have been filled with many activities for me. Since I got married, my priority changed. When I was a bachelor, I had the habit of having fun almost every weekend. My philosophy was that someone who works hard for consecutive five or six days should have a day to relax, have fun and prepare for the succeeding week.

This philosophy changed when I became a husband and a father. I can't see myself eating or having any time out without my family. Whatever fun I can have with them at home now, that's all.

However, two things happened to me recently that were celebrated by some friends. It's been six years since I bagged my first degree. I had wanted to further my studies at the master's level immediately but for one reason or the other, I couldn't actualize it. One of the major reasons that caused a delay was that I was looking for opportunities to do my masters in a clime where I would be exposed to hands-on practical experience. I got admission to many universities in the UK but wasn't able to secure funding.

Two years ago, I got a sponsorship to do the Masters in a Nigerian university. I delayed the offer for two years to guide my young family to stability. Late last year, I applied to my preferred master's program at the University of Jos, my alma mater.

In February this year, I was offered a provisional admission. That was a major milestone for me and my loved ones.

IMG_20240411_072157_624.jpg

The second thing that happened had to do with my friend of many years, Jude. Jude and I were the best of friends throughout our undergraduate years. We operated like twins. Some people called us twins because of our equivalent height and similar complexion. Unfortunately, our relationship took a negative turn a few years ago. I tried to work things out but I couldn't. I had to let go. One thing I was sure of was that I was going to reconnect with Jude. The dreams and aspirations that we shared are too strong to be jettisoned at the expense of some childish misunderstandings. We stayed for months and years without talking.

When I was offered admission, I called him to inform him. Luckily for me, the number connected unlike my experience for months when the number wasn't reachable. He screamed in celebration on the phone. He asked about my trip to Jos for the registration. We spoke as if we never had a problem.

In April this year, I traveled to Jos for the registration and commencement of lectures. I stayed with Jude in his apartment. Jude is a football lover and a Chelsea fan. I am equally an Arsenal fan. Our reunion was celebrated by other friends. We planned to visit a bar to celebrate the two developments.

We fixed the night of April 24th, which was the same time Arsenal was playing Chelsea in the just concluded premier league season. Jude ordered drinks and grasscutter meat. We taunted ourselves throughout the match which ended 5:0 in favor of Arsenal. We used the avenue to apologize to each other and reminisce on the good old days.

photo-1709131121957-87cb1a693e82.jpeg
Source

The fun of that night isn't something that I can forget in a hurry. We drove back home to have a long sleep. Since that day, our friendship has been reactivated in full force. His home in Jos became mine. Anytime that I am in Jos for lectures or research, his apartment becomes my abode. He promised to visit my base in Kaduna very soon so that my family could celebrate the friend who served as my best man during my wedding. Of course, I envisage a lot of fun.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments