Occupying space unnecessarily

Screenshot_20240924-194851.jpg

Before writing this post, I scrolled through my phone applications and realized that I have more applications that I don't use than those that I use. I hardly uninstall any app. Despite installing some applications for temporary use, I don't delete them after using them for the purpose of what I installed them for.

I purchased my current phone two years ago. Within this span of time, I only deleted three apps on the phone. I didn't delete any of them for the purpose of decluttering but to get rid of any app taking my time unnecessarily and preventing me from achieving whatever I set out to achieve. About a year ago, Facebook was taking my time unproductively. I had to suspend my account and uninstall the app so that I could focus on the important things that I was doing. The remaining two apps that I deleted were games. There was a particular game that whenever I started playing it, I would get lost in the unproductive tasks. When I realized that it was affecting me negatively, I uninstalled it.

However, going through my phone this evening, I realized that I have apps in their tens that are not supposed to remain on my phone.

The first app that I would like to mention is Jumia, an online store that sells clothes, electronics, kitchen utensils and many other things that you can think of. I made use of the app to purchase a pair of shirts more than a year ago. Since that time, I haven't bought anything on the app. Many bad experiences with online purchases made me opt for buying whatever I needed from physical shops. In addition to Jumia, I have "konga" and "jiji" that I installed for similar purposes, but I never used them.

I have a social media app call thread. It was founded by the Facebook owner with the aim of competing with X (formerly Twitter). I followed the trend to install the app, but unfortunately, it has not been able to compete with X. For more than a year now, I haven't opened the app for any reason.

Xender is another app that I don't use. I used to use it a few years ago, but presently, I get any music or video that I want by downloading them. I can remember when last I received or sent a song through Xender. It's part of the apps that I need to screen out to declutter my phone.

Like I mentioned from the beginning, the list of unused apps on my phone is long. These apps got installed for a purpose, but after using them for the intended purposes, I found it difficult to uninstall them. Apps like FM radio, Zoom, Palm Store, Photo room, Snapchat, Beez, Perplexity (an AI application), and some football streaming apps are just a few of the apps on my phone that are just occupying spaces without being used.

I have other apps that came with my phone from the producer. I am scared of uninstalling these apps because I may not know the implication of doing so on the proper functioning of the phone. And these apps are many.

I won't wait till the RAM of my phone gets used up before doing some decluttering. I just have to do some cleaning. If it is not useful, then it isn't worth remaining on my phone.

The image used is mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now