Ending the year with one last bang!

Is it just me or is this month running freaking fast? Is it not yesterday that we entered December, now we have already gotten to the middle of the month and Christmas is fast approaching. It looks like the year is even tired of itself, it just wants to speed things up and get it over with. 2024 is coming in less than 3 weeks from now, who else is excited?

Anyway, I looked at the details of this current hive learners weekly content topic and it's quite obvious that most people are going to pick birthday as the one thing they aren't going to do again till next year. Of course, it's that way because many of us have a particular daily routine which we will keep doing till the end of the year. But after thinking about it for a while, I remembered I did something yesterday which I'm definitely not going to do again till next year.

Internet data subscription

I know many Nigerians here probably subscribe for internet data every week or for some people, it's every 2 days. About a year ago, I was in the category that subscribed every 2 days until someone told me about a better option. Since then, I only subscribe once a month and I use that one subscription till it expires and then I renew. The data plan I'm talking about is called Always ON plan and for those of you using MTN, you can get it by dialing *312 *1# and selecting the 5th option

It goes for N6000 and it gives 1.5GB every day for a total of 30 days. Altogether, that makes it 45GB in 30 days. The one I did last month expired yesterday and I renewed the subscription. I am definitely done with data subscription for this year coz right now, I have over 5GB of data and it keeps adding 1.5GB every day. It will expire next year in January.

Another thing I am done with for this year is final year clearance at my university. I started the process about 2 weeks ago and I gotta tell you that it was very stressful (just like everything in Nigeria 😅). I used over a week to do just one thing because of how slow the whole process was. Coupled with the fact that every step of the clearance process needs money, it just made the whole thing frustrating.

Pay for this, pay for that, go to that office, come to my office, sign here, sign there, how about we do all that next year? 😩 I just gave up after passing the first clearance and I said to myself; "you know what, let's just continue next year". The main reason why I stopped is because of finances, I need about 40k ($40) for the whole thing and right now, I don't have that amount. I rather just enjoy myself this December and worry about all that stress next year.

Will I still do these things?

For the clearance stuff, nope. Even if I'm gifted 100k ($100) right now, I am not stepping foot in that university till next year. The little clearance I did almost gave me a phobia of that university, so I rather just leave it till next year when I'm mentally ready for it. As for the data subscription, I see no reason to do another one because I have all the data I need at the moment.

I have lots of movies I haven't watched and sometimes when I'm browsing through TikTok and I see an interesting movie, I immediately download it. What else do I need data for? I have no heavy downloads to do, I mostly do coding these days and that doesn't take a lot of data. I could code all day and not use up to 1GB. But I guess if I have something heavy to download and there's lots of free money to spare, I could do a separate data subscription but I don't think that will be happening anytime soon.

Thanks for reading

Connect with me on:
Twitter: @kushyzeena
Readcash: @kushyzee

Lead image: Image by Freepik
Edited with Canva
other images are personal screenshots
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center