My name is Kingsley

Greetings People!🙌


Designed on canva


My real name is Kingsley (without the extra 'y'), and I normally boast about my name because of how romantic it sounds when pronounced by a lady.
According to my parents, it was my dad who gave me the name when I was born, and I know he gave me the name based on how simple & sweet it is to pronounce and not knowing its meaning.

How did I know that my dad didn't know the meaning of my name?

When I came of age, I was very curious to find out the meaning of my name, and we did not know what Google was then; phones were scarce. The only way we could get to know the meaning of our names without asking our parents was through those books with the title; Names and Meaning.

Luckily for me, one day, book sellers came to market such books in our class, and my friends bought them....I didn't buy. That was where I got to know the meaning of my name: Like a King. ( Some searches give a different info)

When I got home that day, I quickly asked my father to let me know if what he had in mind tallied with what I saw, but I was disappointed—he doesn't know the meaning of my name. It's not his fault; the illiterate era made a fool of them. He likes good English names, which is why he settled on such sweet names for me.

My name is just perfect for me.

I'm never been in regret, bearing the name Kingsley, infact, it seems my dad knew how my adult life would be by giving me such name.

If you go around, check very well for people that bear Kingsley; they're very gentle, calm, and do not humanize. Like I always say, if you see anybody with the name Kingsley and he's acting in opposition to these characteristics, just know that he's fake. Maybe that's a nickname.
If you see me in person, you won't need to open a dictionary to get the meaning of Kingsley. I'm just its 100% definition.


I'm not so keen on attaching religious meanings to names, but somehow, I think my name is answering for me in terms of being like a king or a leader.
I've been opportuned to lead in different categories, both ones that I never wanted but they still landed on me.

I remember a particular scenario that occurred during my NYSC. When the leadership rush came, they all pointed at me, but I picked race because my leadership always ends up with no financial benefit; instead, I'd be the one giving out. But guess what? I was still arrested to the throne after running away

These leadership pushes are still coming, but no way! I'm no longer doing!
If it's not a position that will enrich my pocket, I'm not doing it. I'm considering going into politics.

I don't have any issues with my name; I so much love it, and I'm planning to hand it over to my unborn son.

Thanks for reading


This is my entry to the Week 69, Edition 03 of the Weekly Featured Contest in Hive Learners Community.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center