Being a social media influencer

Asking myself boldly, can I be a social media influencer?

Yes, I can, but...

Okay, let me start by picking up on the latest trends in the social media world regarding upcoming influencers. Recently, Mark, the owner of Facebook, announced that Nigerians can now earn on Facebook through the videos they post on the platform. Most of the people I know aren't into platforms like X (Twitter), Instagram, Tiktok or YouTube. Facebook is what they've known for a long time, and as soon as they heard that their beloved Facebook can now pay them for engaging in activities there, they all turned into upcoming social media influencers. I'm not saying it's bad, but hey, the way they jumped on the opportunity is so funny, especially considering the content they post. To be frank, social media isn't for everyone! When I come across those posts, they make me sigh, and I feel like I should unfriend them. I know many others feel the same way. Am I harboring hatred for them? No! But they should stop!

Why all this?

I can be a social media influencer, but the start-up phase isn't something I think I can handle, unless I could skip the beginning stages. No matter what content I create, there are always going to be people out there who dislike it, just as I do with some of the posts my friends put out to keep their social media influencer dreams alive. I'm scared of that. I'm scared people will look at my content and think it's rubbish 😂.

I know I would post reasonable content, but the thoughts I have about my friends' posts, trying to grow their following, aren't positive at all.

But nonetheless, I have a field I’m well-rooted in. It's very common and popular, but not as overdone as those who awkwardly film their faces and post it online for everyone to see, only to end up with 4 views and 2 likes. I'd do well in football. Considering the start-up and continuity, I wouldn't find it hard to thrive in this field, especially since my country is one of the largest nations on earth that loves football. Of course, everything will start local before it spreads worldwide, and Nigerians are going to be a great audience. One advantage of being a football influencer, especially in the beginning, is that it doesn’t require much, aside from attracting followers. It’s just a matter of posting football content in a controversial manner, then sitting back and watching as a huge number of sports lovers argue in the comment section. Before you know it, the page will start growing.

You don't really need to make live or face-to-face videos—just editing sports highlights is enough.
Football discussions are full of banter, and I can handle that very well. After all, the banter won’t be directed at me personally.

As for staying relevant, there won’t be any problem as long as football continues to exist on earth, and as long as the teams that are supposed to win matches keep losing, like Manchester United.

But why am I not into this since I know my way around?

The Simple answer is fear of competition. There's probability that I wouldn't be known because there are millions of people out there doing the same thing already.

Thanks for reading.

Image 1 & 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center