I WAS WRONG

Sometimes as human beings we are also quick to judge a person without even getting to know the individual, same applies to othe spheres of life.
We sometimes look that the physical appearance of an individual or how the person speaks and we conclude about the character of an Individual. Looks can be deceiving and we have to be careful when judging a person.

pexels-photo-6147385.jpeg

Source

I remember some months ago, I was to have a meeting with a client. I was expecting a well dressed elderly man, driving in his luxurious car to the restaurant we were to meet. My expectations were high because of the amount of money involved. This client was the one who chose the restaurant and it was an expensive one.
It was about 2p.m and I got to the restaurant. I kept looking outside for my client each time and expensive car drove into the restaurant. At some point I stopped looking.

Some minutes later an Elderly man walked up to me, I thought the man was a beggar. He was looking unkempt. He greeted me and said he was the one that called me over the phone. I was disappointed and thought he was here to beg for help and he decided to lie that he is interested in my services. He started speaking and I was impressed with his English, And how he explained how the project should look like. I was a little stunned.

I told him how much it would cost and it was on a high side. The man made a transfer to my account instantly. I was surprised, then I realized I had judged him wrongly. We ordered for our meal and he paid for it. I was astonished and I was just wondering why he looked so unkempt.

After eating it was time to go. I told him I would drop him off since I didn't see him with a car. He smiled and said he was coming from his farm, that his driver was on his way that the driver went to drop off his wife. We waited for another 5minutes,then I saw a very expensive car driving in and people were trying to take pictures of the car. The man said " My ride is here", pointing to the car. I was shocked and I couldn't say a word.
This incident really opened my mind and I then realized that I shouldn't judge a book by it's cover . Some times how people appear is not a true reflection of them.

Some years back I was among some panel of Judges in a musical talent show. We had seen a lot of contestants coming to be auditioned, most of them did not perform well, some looked confident but couldn't sing.
This young smart looking lady walked into the auditioning hall with a lot of confidence. I quickly told one of my co-judges that she was going to blow our minds. I still don't know why I believed she would perform well.
We asked her about herself and the way she responded was so different from the previous contestants, I was now very sure she was going to perform well. She picked a song which was perfect for her voice . When she started singing I felt goosebumps all over me. The others judges looked at each other with disbelieve, I guess they didn't expect that from her.
After she had finished singing we all stood up and applauded her. I smiled and nodded in approval. I judged her by her look and I was right.
This particular incident thought me that the way carry myself matters. People tend to judge a person by his or her looks so I must always show confidence.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now