MY FIRST JOB TAUGHT ME THE NEED FOR BALANCE

My mum was always complaining, During that period, a lot of things going on at the same time, one of which was the fact that we were down on finance and I needed to start joining in bringing money home because I was learning a skill (graphics design and social media management). But the issue of our finances was really demanding, leaving me with little or no option but to end the journey of acquiring a skill.


Image by yanalya on Freepik

I started searching for Jobs online after going back and forth with my mum about getting a job and learning a skill. But then again I had already learned that when a woman requires something, it is mandatory to let her have it if I want peace of mind lol. My mum started giving me those attitudes and I knew I needed to do it for her even if it meant putting aside my goals which would yield a much better result in the future. I also learned that while planning for the future, it's necessary to also plan for ways to live to see that future you are planning for (If you know, you know lol).

It was as though a Job was already waiting for me as I got three Jobs In my first bid. I went with confidence for the three interviews and passed well as a social media manager. I never made it look as though it was my first Job as I presented my little training experience as though I was already working before. I also joined those experiences with projects I was involved in (for learning purposes) so it was kind of interesting to see a young man with a reasonable amount of experience. the only thing was my qualification as I had recently dropped out of school due to the financial restrains my family was facing.

Image by kues1 on Freepik

I started to work with all agility and would often consult the internet for things I didn't know or wasn't sure of. A month later my MD handed over his other two companies to me seeing how good I was in my probationary month. This was when I began to flop, though I was good with one, my lack of true real-life experiences in handling multiple tasks became evident. My MD started complaining about the things I failed to do because I was concentrating too much on irrelevant things.

At this point I knew I needed to do something fast if I wanted to keep my job, so one day I asked my boss how he managed to take on three companies and was even planning the fourth one and still had more than enough time for his family. I asked because I see how he leaves the office to pick up his children from school and many times drops them off in the morning before coming to work and even gets to work before us (employees) He laughed so hard before answering me, but when he was done, he answered me anyway. He said it was all about balance, scheduling, the scale of preference, and good timing. Since then I started applying them to my work and discovered how easy it could be to handle a lot of things. It wasn't easy at first, but I learned on my own to put my mind to rest if I wanted to become productive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center