I'M STRESSED BECAUSE MY TIME IS UP

I had to take a long nap before writing this post, I felt my head was going to explode if I didn't. It hasn't been easy entering into the month of July as I have always been talking about my fourth coming exams and project which has already come. Stressed out is an understatement for how I have been coping this month, from planning how I will cope with everything at the beginning of the month to having impromptu activities take over the day.


Image by wayhomestudio on Freepik

I had earlier arranged my schedule for how I was going to manage my time with online activities during this period, I even had to take a months leave from work just so I could cope because I knew my exams was going to be tough, and I needed all the time I could get for it. But now it seems as though I wasn't even prepared for what was coming after my school made some big changes during our clearance week that put a whole lot of pressure on students.

Last week some final year students like me were suspended indefinitely because they tried voicing out their displeasure on the unnecessary stress the school is mounting on the students. We had just a month to learn this semester, and in that one month, lecturers refused to teach (especially final year students) now it's time for exams, obviously the lecturers had set their exam questions for lectures that never held.


Image By vecstock

We bought the textbooks they mandated us to buy without giving us any textbooks. Now we are writing exams with no single insight into what we are writing. How stressed can a person be 😢. I must admit it's been very frustrating knowing these lecturers are doing everything to give us (the final-year students) an extra year, and it's as though the school is proudly in support of this.

I have had to scout online for my courses in the NBTE portal (NBTE= NIGERIA BOARD OF TECHNICAL EDUCATION) just so I could get something to read for the exams, imagine trying to get a calculation course right before the exam, and our calculation courses this semester are all advanced. This is how I have been surviving the stress my school has been mounting on us in the last couple of weeks knowing our time in the school has come to an end.


Image by Freepik

Last week the school announced a 100% increment in school fees which lead to a heavy riot and also made a lot of students fall into depression. A course mate of mine was later expelled yesterday after he was caught forging a receipt in a bid to finish up with his exam clearance because he wasn't having any means of meeting up with the new fees the school had imposed on students. I felt bad for him, being expelled after five years of struggling to attain a degree only to meet this at the end of the day.

For me, I have been really affected both physically, mentally, and financially, but what can I do, I will have to ensure I graduate this time and not drop out like I did in 2018. My activities on hive have also been greatly affected by all these recent scenarios, but I'm pushing with the hope and anticipation that they will all come to an end soon enough.

This is my entry into the hive learners contest prompt for week 72 episode 1, you can check it out here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now