HOW TO KEEP MY HIVE SECURITY AND HIVE KEYS SAFE

Brown Simple Digital Marketing Presentation_20240530_223212_0000.png

The word security means not injured, threaten or harmed. Security is something that is paramount to human lives which we have to take serious that is the reason why we are always adviced by the government to be security conscious or vigilant in our day to day lives or activities.

So therefore, "Hive Security" means the hive blockchain is free from threat or loss and since hive is a source of income, we have to keep the hive keys confidential.
One can loss the hive account if the hive keys are not secure.

Steps involved in changing the trustee accounts (recovery account) to your hive account

A trustee accounts is also known as recovery account. It is an account that have been assigned to your account in case you loss it. You can loss the account if an intruder gain access to your hive keys.

The following are steps to recover your account.
STEPS

  1. I will go to my profile and click on my blog which will take me to my profile beside setting, there is a column which has 3 dots.

  2. Click on the 3 dots after which it will bring out different options then you click on keys and permissions.

  3. Another options will pop up after selecting keys and permissions again you will select the Recovery account.

  4. After clicking recovery account, it will bring out write up on understanding recovery" go through it. Is just like a guide line in understanding what recovery of an account means.

  5. Beneath it are two options, you click on change my recovery account. Then you can change it to the person's account you want. But mind you, it has to be someone you know,trust and also someone who have a hive account.

Functions of each hive keys

Posting key: just as the name implies it is used mainly to post, comment and vote on people's weekly prompt.

Active key: this key is used during transaction which is use for exchange either withdrawal or transfer of hive tokens.

Owner key: it is used to change other key and is also used to generate masters key which is use to recover account and just as the name implies owner it is for you alone.

Memo key: it is hardly used. It is used to send encrypted messages which is cipher (which has numeric character) and coded (which has a short symbol with relation to the item that it represents for example code WRT-7) and it is also used to send decrypted messages meaning it is use to send plain text in an explanatory way.

If my active key get exposed what will I do

When I get to know that my Active key has been exposed either by being lost or hacked , I will immediately change my keys to prevent further harm and if is something I can't handle, I reach out to my trustee without wasting time.

I guess with this write up we know that protecting our hive keys and how to recover account when lost or hacked is very paramount.

This is my entry for the week newbie initiative task 3

Thank you for reading through.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center