NEWBIES INITIATIVE TASK 5: EXPLORING HIVE TOKENS AND ENGINE USAGE


Image designed by @projectmamabg

Hello everyone in the wonderful hive Blockchain. I hope you're all doing well and enjoying the weather wherever you are.

As I've always said, the newbie initiative program is one of the best things that has happened to me since I joined hive. Thanks to them I now know a lot and can do a series of things on the blockchain.

I'm so glad I made it to task 5 of the newbies initiatives. To tell the truth, there are times when I felt like giving up and skipping a task (especially the last task/task 4) but when I think of my team leader @nkemakonam89 and her efforts to make sure her team members’ progress, I had no other choice but to reconsider and push myself.

This week being the 5th week since the newbies initiative program started, we'll be discussing hive tribe tokens, tipping tokens and mining tokens.

When I joined the hive blockchain newly, I used to see people comment "pizza" or "beer" on a post..I didn't know what it was meant for, I didn't even consider it as something important.It was until someone commented "pizza" on my post that I was pushed to ask questions. Even when I asked I didn't gain full knowledge about the importance.

Thanks to @ksam who delivered an amazing lecture about tribe tokens, tipping tokens, and mining tokens.

Now to answer the wonderful questions

MENTION THREE ABUSES OF TIPPING/MINING TOKEN SERVICE

There are people who abuse the tipping/mining service unintentionally because they have no idea it is a punishable offense and there are those who try to play smart. Whichever it is, abusing the tipping/mining service is a punishable offense.

Here's a list of how people abuse the service;

Creating a new account to tip yourself

This is one of the ways people abuse the service. If you've been getting away with this, remember whatever you do on the blockchain is visible and one day you'll get caught.

Tipping yourself

Another way to abuse this service is by tipping yourself. People do this intentionally by using the command wrongly

Exchanging with your friend / tip for tip

I hope you get what I mean in the sub topic. Okay for example a user tips another user with the intention of getting back in return. Now they make it a habit and do it every time.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN HIVE AND SWAP.HIVE

HIve is a first layer token while swap.hive is a second layer token.

LIST 4 DECENTRALIZED EXCHANGES ON HIVE

  • Beeswap

  • Leodex

  • Hivepay swap

  • Tribaldex

PRACTICAL EXERCISE
CONVERT 1.1 HIVE TO SWAP HIVE

I'd be doing this using beeswap.

First step

Login to beeswap using this link; beeswap.dcity.io/swap
Your screen will display the beeswap page.

Second step

Click on the three horizontal lines : it'll displayconvert, swap, wallet, BXT click on convert**

Third step

As you can see there's available liquidity, so it means your transaction can go through. Input the amount of hive you want to convert.

Click on convert and it'll display this, then click on confirm.

TO CONVERT BACK TO HIVE

You just have to toggle the arrow (swap.hive will be above and hive below). Input the amount of swap.hive you want to convert to hive and click confirm.

Note

When I logged in to beeswap, it didn't ask for my hivesigner login because this isn't the first time I'd logged in. But if you're logging in for the first time, you'll be requested to input your hivesigner.

APPRECIATION

I'm grateful to @ksam for delivering such an amazing lecture. We really learned a lot. Thanks to the @newbies-hive and @starstrings01 for their amazing initiatives. I'm thankful to my amazing team leader @nkemakonam89 and other team leaders.

Lastly, thanks to the curators @aliento team and @theycallmedan

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency