Cars, Cars, And More Cars

I am a big fan of cars. I have always been a big fan of them for as long as I can remember. I remember when it all started. Before then, I saw cars as ordinary, nothing special to hold dear to my heart. It all started with a game during my childhood. My friends and I would always play a game. We called it “Name That Car! Name that car!” We would take turns mentioning car brands and whoever named the most won. I always lost to a friend who was a car freak. His dad worked in a big car company, so it was fair he was an expert in the field of cars. He was the king of the game, he knew it and would always brag about it. His arrogance became really annoying and I decided to do something about it. There is a limit to what a person can take and his last victory was just the last straw that broke the camel’s back. I got tired of losing and decided to change the game. I borrowed my brother’s phone and researched many car brands. I wrote them down on paper and crammed them till they were caged up in a tiny part in my mind.

The next time we played that game, the king of Name That Car and I made it to the final. He was so confident that he would win, but to his surprise, I defeated him hands down. That was the beginning of my love for cars. I had no cell phone at that time, and would always rely on my siblings’ phones. Sometimes, they willingly allowed me to play games and browse with their phones, and other times, I had to run errands before they allowed me to. When I finally got my own phone, I had the freedom to explore. One area I dug into was cars. I became a lover of cars. It is safe to say I was obsessed with them as I set car images as my phone wallpaper and social media profiles (well, except Facebook.)

The first ever car I fell in love with was a 1957 Corvette. Some might say it is old school, but it was once the king of the road. Many people are still obsessed with it. One of the things I could go on rambling about all day is cars. I enjoy talking about cars with @abenad and my other friends on Discord. There’s this level of happiness that fills your heart when another person shares the same interests with you. Like, come on! Do you love cars too?!

Technology has taken over everything, and the car world is no exception. From steam-powered cars to gasoline line gas, to V8 engines, sports cars, electric cars, hybrid cars, and autonomous vehicles (self-driving cars), the car world has come a long way. We have seen so many upgrades and what’s better? There are many futuristic cars to come. When it comes to cars, one topic that sparks debate is autonomous Vehicles also known as AVs. If you had the opportunity to buy a self-driving car, would you? While some people like that AVs are stress-free cars, others would rather not try them at all.

I have had conversations with so many car lovers, and after asking them several questions, I concluded that the main reason people are scared of self-driving cars is because of the fear of accidents. And trust me, they have so many reasons to be scared. I will try as much as I can not to use complex car terms because I know some are not familiar with them. In simple terms, self-driving cars use sensors such as cameras, and radar, among others to detect their surroundings. To some extent, they are safe. Would you pick this (sensor) over your own judgment? Like every other thing, self-driving cars have their advantages and disadvantages. One advantage I consider the most important is that it is useful for elderly people and those who are not physically fit to drive. On the other hand, studies have shown that self-driving cars cause more accidents than traditional cars(verify online to confirm)

Self-driving cars sound cool and all, but I have never liked them. Over the years, I have loved and unloved so many cars, and self driving cars have never made my list. There are one million and one reasons why I would never get an AVs, one of the reasons is that they are prone to glitches and errors, and cannot make critical judgments like humans during emergencies. Considering my country where village people are going around with their evil eyes looking for whom to devour, I’m not sure self-driving cars would be a nice idea at all. Instead of self-driving cars, please give me a Supra MK4 with a horsepower of 321 HP and a twin-turbo six engine. Vutututtuuuuuu!

All images in this post are mine.

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center