THE FIRST JOB: NEVER IMAGINE THAN EXPECTED.

Good day hievian

I will like to share my experience with us on my FIRST JOB.

After I graduated from high school,I needed to work so as to save money to assist my mum to get some necessary things and bills when I finally get admission to the university.... that was what actually motivated me to get a job.
I began to search for job and luckily for me one of my friends told me about one,I applied and got the job.

pexels-photo-3756679.jpeg
Image source

I worked as receptionist in a mini company where they produce marble,construct on the marble,they do stickers,award and the likes.

The first two weeks was stressful couple with the fact that I have to wake up early to get to work early. Transportation wasn't helping too. My stay at the company was peaceful, but boring, not too much anyways because I have a TV to myself which keeps me company anytime customers are not around.

Opppps!!!!

Less I forgot,the chairman of the company is not in Nigeria as at that time I worked there,so his children were the acting chairman of the company.

My experience in that company was traumatic.
Yes, it was.
You might want to ask why?
Of course I will tell you.

As I discussed earlier,the children of the chairman were the acting chairman since thier Dad is not around.They were two grown male adults.They don't come to work daily,and always expect me to get customer for them. If I don't,they will get angry. Anytime they show up at the company, it is always because a customer needs thier attention.

If a customer make part of thier payment for work needed work to be done, they miss manage the money by spending lavishly.

By the time the customer who paid is expecting his/her work, they won't be able to meet up.

And this causes misunderstanding which at sometimes eventually leads to throwing of punch between the customers and them.
The annoying thing there is that my signature is always the one that appears on the customer's receipt ,and if they will arrest anyone, I will be the first person to be arrested because of my signature.
Another thing is that this guys smoke,womanize, and do all sort,but the amazing thing is that these are guys that looks responsible,that one won't be suspicious of them to do all sort of terrible things
All of this goes on
and on and I became exhausted.
I realized that the environment is detrimental to my health.
I also discover that the salary does not even worth all the pains and stress I am passing through there.

Two things actually made me resign:
One of the reason I left was because my mum asked me to. The very first time she came to the office, she met the mother of the two guys. Both of them discussed and she, to her best knowledge about that place at that time,thinks the place is good for me(this was three days after I resumed work) but when I told her what her daughter was going through she instructed me to quit. I told her I want to quit also but it already close to the end of the month,so I want the compensation for my labour before leaving.

pexels-photo-7688335.jpeg
Image source

Another reason why I seriously have to quit the job was because of an incident that happened between the eldest brother and his girlfriend. This incidence led the elderest brother to beating his girlfriend.The girlfriend was very annoyed and wants him arrested. She then went about in search for him, but he wasn't found neither was his hiding place reviewed. The girlfriend, in quet to finding him begged me to follow her to the station,by that, he(her boyfriend) will console in himself to come to the station,but I refused. Other shops owners arround also disagreed to this. Eventually, I was forced by the police man to the station. His mum came to the station and normalized the conflict between them. This whole scenarios really got me pissed off, which increase my quet to leave that job.
So I left the job and I didn't even wait for them to pay me which they haven't till this moment.

What I actually learnt from all this scenario was first:1.Do not judge a book by its cover!
This guys look responsible,classic and educated, but having close contact with them, I discover that they seriously the other way round.
At first, I was glad when I was given the job because I think this people are responsible and I believed that I will enjoy the period with them and with the company because of the nice outlook of company including TV,AC and other things I was enjoying. The younger brother also then, do give me token whenever I called to inform him that customers were around.
Another thing I learnt is that one should always pray for gifts of great breed. Unlike those children(the guys) who spoilt what their father used his precious effort and days to build. I'm very sure that their parents tried their ultimate best to give the proper training to thier children(the guys) but because this children did not suffer or start from scratch to build up the company so they didn't value it.
They only want to enjoy without sacrificing.

My greatest lesson learnt is that whatever I do or engage in must not be detrimental to my physical and emotional well-being.
I learnt to always choose peace first over any other thing.
I never pray to have a chance to work in such an environment ever again.
I can never go back there to work even if it now another individual heading the company because the environment will still bring back past memories and of which I don't want.

This is my experience at my first job...
I hope you learnt from my experience.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center