The Unending Quest for a Silver Spoon

IMG_20221220_180650_543.jpg

Hello, fellow hivers, I am so sorry I have not been active in the community since my introductory post, it has been tough all the while but thank God things are a bit better. I hope to navigate better these days. In this post I wish to share a very important thought and would be glad if you can contribute to resolve the issue.

Having lost dad at my cradle, I made his favorite cushion my personal inheritance. I would often sit there any time I felt the need to reflect since I considered the chair to be his relic and thus a source of inspiration for a wise decision.

Just last week, an incident occured and that reawoke a provoking thought that has on two occasions been the theme of my timely reflections.

Talking about the incident, a friend of mine who has been like a brother to me left the village just last year to the city to seek for a greener pasture. He came back last week looking very robust and cute. I was glad he was back and so went to visit.

I got to his house but was greeted by the sight of my lover with my friend right on his cushion smushing. I was shocked and shouted but to my greatest amazement, my lover replied to me, "why the interruption and disturbance, can't you see that I am with a real man?" Then to my friend she said, "honey I told you we should use the room, please let us go in." And they left to the room. Trying to stop them, my friend said to me 'nna jee kpata ego' meaning, bro, go and make money.

I was heartbroken for days but thank goodness I recovered and tried to move on. Having recovered from the shocking incident, I decided to reflect again on the issue of 'money'. I thought very deep and questioned myself severally if I am cursed. Indeed I have tried several things possible to make money but it seems nothing is working.

Some time ago, I was told that to make money, one needs to go to school. I struggled to go to school even though not being able to read my dream course (law) since dad was not alive to help make things easier with regards the fees. I became a philosopher with a second class upper degree.

I made effort to get a good job, but was only lucky not to be rejected by the primary school around my vicinity in the village. All other institutions turned down my applications and all the time asked me what I can offer with philosophy. Some would say, I do not want someone to come and rationalize everything in my company.

I decided to manage the one I got. Thus I became a primary two teacher with a salary of #10,000 per month. I was actually the highest paid in the school and that was because I have a degree. I struggled for months to live well, but it didn't work at all.

I decided to quit the job and joined the guys doing bricklaying to work. I was paid #1,500 everyday after mixing ten bags of cement with sand and gravel. But then I would always use #500 to buy drugs everyday inorder to be strong for the next day's work.

Again I decided to quit when I realized that I was not making anything out of the work and my health is at risk. I thought of what else to do. A friend of mine introduced the internet fraud to me and told me that I would do well with my sharp brain. I thought of it and was almost going to yield to it but my conscience wouldn't allow me.

A pastor met me and told me that I needed to be more prayerful and be a good seed sower inorder to make it in life. It appealed to me and so I went into serious prayer session. I fasted and prayed for days and took every money I had and sowed it as a seed to the pastor. He prayed for me and I left. But then I still had nothing to fall back on.

IMG_20221016_173040_358.jpg
Praying Center


Life became very tough, I thought of what else to do. I learnt that skill acquisition is one way of earning big. I pleaded with a friend of mine who is a fashion designer and he agreed to teach me and whenever I have money for the training I can pay him.

I learnt it for six months and was sewing some good clothes. I began to get some customers bring clothes to me to sew and gradually my new skill was paying. I got the money for the training and paid my friend. But immediately I did, he stopped me from using his machine and so I was back to square one again.

IMG_20221127_110352_763.jpg
One of my fashion production

I didn't have the money to get my own machine and continue my work and nobody was ready to help. I had learnt how to play some musical instruments while in school and so inorder to survive I was going from church to church playing the piano, jazz band and bass guitar for them and I was given some stipend. But then I was not satisfied. I have always thought of becoming a successful man. I have always thought of buying a silver spoon even though my father didn't give it to me before his demise.

IMG_0282.JPG
Practicing for one of the outings


I was told there is high chance of having a silver spoon, if can travel to Europe, but then how can I make it over there without money. The issue is now very complicated and I keep asking myself how did people get to own a silver spoon.

Till now the issue is unresolved and I am asking my good people @onos-f, @ksam, @starstrings, @fernanblog, @brittandjosie, @jamerussell and indeed all my fellow hivers, 'how can I own a silver spoon?'

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center