Considering other mini-jobs just to stay afloat.

work-1627703__480.jpg
source

Life has a way of treating everyone differently, as different individuals are dealing with different life issues. In the course of experiencing these life huddles, we tend to learn from them and develop a way of putting an end to the situation/issue. As a child, I never expected life to be this complex. I thought it was just an easy journey to embark on. Now the real representation of what life really is has been made known to me through the activities I engage in. Getting to know how life treats everyone differently, I had to adjust and adapt to the situation I found myself in. Seeing how my world doesn't favour the weak, I became strong.

Graduating from high school and waiting for admission, I needed a source of income to at least support me in school. This source wasn't for any big project but just for my academic achievement. I had to look around and to see if there was any business that could fetch me money even in my absence. This I thought of several times and ended up developing a piece of farm land I owned. I gave it all my best since I didn't have all the time in the world to engage in it. I invested all my savings in it. Getting workers to help me carry out the project was really demanding, which is why I used all my personal savings. After some months, I gained admission into the university. At this point, I didn't have any critical work on the farm. What was left for me was to hand over the farm to someone who would be able to take care of it. I was lucky to find one.

The farm started producing not too long after I left for school. This period, it was majorly plantains and bananas. This helped me in most of the pressing times when the money from my parents wasn't sufficient. I didn't have to keep using all the money as the plantains and bananas would definitely fade. I had to channel some of the money from the farm to my younger brothers to start rearing goats. That they did, though it wasn't that easy, as they complained about the stress involved in it. While in school, I wasn't quite settled yet. I started engaging in some mini jobs for my course mates and other students to sponsor some of my basic needs.

As a student who is conscious about my academic performance, I didn't let this engagement affect my grades. I use the period meant for rest and recreation for those mini-jobs, which keeps me from being too open to other time-consuming activities. I could never have had any better experience in school without taking part in these small jobs.

The whole story would have been more interesting if public universities in Nigeria were not experiencing the ongoing strike action by the Academic Staff Union of Universities. Within this strike period, I luckily came across hive which has been another source of income. Since it's not too demanding for me to stay at home, I am trying to build my hive account to ease my hustle when next I resume studies. This alone will serve as another job till graduation and even after graduation.

Thank you for reading! I am @isaacngore.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now