TAKE A PASS

20240201_175841_0000.png

Giving one's time to something hardly ever gets to be a problem at the point when picturing it in one's head. At that early stage, you are so damn confident that you can ace everything that is coming but then it's just a matter of time before you know if truly you can be committed to that project or not. About one month ago, a friend came to tell me of a project and asked if I'd love to be a part of it and I was so happy about and quickly accepted to be a part of it since it wasn't something so difficult to do as long as I have the time.

I was told that the project was going to start in about a month time and that didn't really helped me because I made that decision of being committed because I thought I'd be swinging into action as soon as possible. Due to the fact I was told the project wasn't starting immediately, I had to involve myself in other things that are still taking my time and now that the project is kicking off, I couldn't get to be a part of it because I won't be able to stay committed to the project.

The project is geared towards promoting a community to those who are yet to be a part of it and that is something I enjoy doing so much especially for something I believe in. Well, even though I still can't be a part of that project full time, I can still engage in it whenever I want to and I think that is just great as I can still do other things I need to do as well.

Giving ones time to something is never a problem as long as he or she is capable and has the time. Being committed to something means giving your time, effort and sometimes money too. Therefore choosing to still involve yourself in something even when you know you can't give it your time, effort and resources (sometimes), then it is neither good for you nor good for others involved in it. Most project are projects that strive well when all hands are on deck.

20240201_180124_0000.png

Well, the project is already in motion and I'm confident that it is going to do well even without me being a part of it. It's a work that requires a good team and I know some persons that are involved in it and they seem to be very capable for the job at hand. I could have tried to just say I'd be capable but then I know that it would only make the project suffer and that means lack of growth.

I hate giving false hope to people because it doesn't tell well, so when I know I can't do something, I just tell myself the truth and give room for someone more capable to do that job and save myself from being an obstacle to a course or a project. I have other things that need my time too and adding more to it would be a wicked thing to myself because no matter how hard I feel important, when I'm gone I'm definitely going to be replaced so I choose to take care of myself and do what I can do.

A project will definitely keep going without someone who is not the brain of that project so trying to overdo won't be a wise thing to do. At least that would help the one in charge of such project to be able to think of a replacement for my spot and keep the project going.

That's all for my response for the topic on "NO COMMITMENT AT ALL" chosen for the Hivelearners editional prompts.

Images used were gotten and designed using canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now