A STUDENT’S ORDEAL

This year has been a lot for me, like I love how things have been going so far but then I have had more decision making to do than other years, that alone has made it hard for me. I have even have to do one of those things I thought I’d never do but that wasn’t even the hardest thing for me surprisingly. I remember early this year, I was somewhere in my father’s house sitting down just living the daughter life and it was good and very comfortable, I had little worries.

Fast forward to 3 months into the year, my life took a new twist, I finally got admission into the university and I just had to get out of my comfort zone. Things weren’t so good for my dad but somehow I still managed to resume and I started working out every thing to make my admission sure. The first week was a bit bearable but I can’t say that for the weeks after. I saw different kinds of shege (hardships) and I was made to understand that it is the norm for almost every student just starting out.

I struggled to accept the whole change and I had days when I would even cry about it. Luckily for me, I had friends who were always checking on me, always making sure I was coping well with everything and they really helped me a lot. Unlike how I had planned my student life to be, based on what I have heard from others, I thought my first year as a student would be very fun and exciting but it was a whole different experience. I was too busy trying to get things done, attend classes, make sure I ate well and also try to earn some income to keep me going.

I kept wondering how it would’ve have been if I didn’t have an elder sister, because she saved the day most of the times when I needed saving. I always don’t like disturbing her because I know she has a lot going on for her too but sadly she is mostly all I have got since my dad is not doing so well at the moment. Thanks to her and some other amazing friends, I have managed so well until now. I don’t know everything yet and I know I haven’t seen it all yet but I know that starting this second semester will be a little less challenging than the first, because I have an idea of what to expect.

I know what to expect and I know a little more how to go about some things than when I started. Although, from the look of things now, this semester might be way harder than the first but I hope I don’t give up and face it head on. For the two months that is left, I will try as much as I can to just be positive and productive as a student. I know that getting my admission this year wasn’t a mistake at all so I will just keep trying to keep on and not get tired or frustrated.

If there was anything I learnt in my first semester as a student, it will be the need for always asking for help when you need one. We know others are going through theirs but then, when we have need, we shouldn’t keep it to ourselves. Despite the roll coasters I faced as a student, I still had times when I helped others because theirs was more pressing than mine and that didn’t stop me from living, hehe.

Shout out to every student out there, you all are amazing and I want you to know that you can do it! I mean, we can do it!

Thank you for stopping by ❤️

Images used are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center