Why the clock is always after us?

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Banner Pizza News (63).png

Banner created in canva

  I am getting to an age where it is very difficult to remember things that happened in the past. Our present is mostly a reflection of what we learned as a child, such as good things, and traumas. There is something that I learned which is a bit mix of both I guess. My father was always concerned about getting to the appointments on time. He is a bit anxious about that for sure. I learned that it is important to be on time for your appointments, whether these appointments are family events, parties, job interviews, or classes. So I think that is one heritage of my father that I absorbed when I was a kiddo.

  Estou chegando a uma idade em que é muito difícil lembrar das coisas que aconteceram no passado. Nosso presente é em grande parte um reflexo do que aprendemos quando éramos crianças, como coisas boas e traumas. Há algo que aprendi, que é um pouco de mistura dos dois, eu acho. Meu pai sempre se preocupava em chegar às consultas no horário certo. Ele é um pouco ansioso com relação a isso, com certeza. Aprendi que é importante ser pontual para seus compromissos, sejam eles eventos familiares, festas, entrevistas de emprego ou aulas. Então, acredito que essa é uma herança do meu pai que absorvi quando era criança.

image.png

  My school used to start at 7:30 AM when I was a kid. We used to live a little bit far from the school. For some part of my childhood, I used to get the bus to school, but at some point, my parents decided to take me off the system, probably because it was expensive. And he started to drive me before going to work. However, he was the type of employee who never gets late to work, so I was usually the first one to get to the class even compared to other classrooms... I remember most of the time turning on the lights in the class, and most of the time when going up the stairs of the building I noticed that most of the classrooms were still without any lights on. For sure there were sometimes that I used to get there at 6:50 AM. I remember that we used to leave home at 6 AM every time. Imagine what time I was waking up for that to happen. Maximum 5:30 AM. I started to take the public regular bus line to go to school when I was already around 12 years old. So probably that was happening when I was 10 more or less. It was so bad to wake up so early since I was getting too early at school, I remember that I used to sleep at my table waiting for the class to start. For sure he kept doing pressure on me to be ready at 6 AM. That continues with me until nowadays. I keep having this internal voice that pressures me to not be late to my appointments. That is good because I have never had problems with employers or teachers for being late, different from other colleagues. But on the other side, it isn't very healthy since I create a bit of anxiety when things don't go as planned.

  Minha escola costumava começar às 7h30 quando eu era criança. Morávamos um pouco longe da escola. Em parte da minha infância, costumava pegar o ônibus para a escola, mas em algum momento, meus pais decidiram me retirar do sistema, provavelmente porque era caro. E ele começou a me levar antes de ir para o trabalho. No entanto, ele era o tipo de funcionário que nunca chegava atrasado no trabalho, então eu costumava ser o primeiro a chegar na sala, mesmo em comparação com outras salas de aula... Lembro que na maioria das vezes eu acendia as luzes na sala e, na maioria das vezes, ao subir as escadas do prédio, eu percebia que a maioria das salas ainda estava sem luz. Com certeza houve vezes em que eu chegava lá às 6h50. Lembro que costumávamos sair de casa às 6h todas as vezes. Imagine a que horas eu estava acordando para isso acontecer. No máximo às 5h30. Comecei a pegar o ônibus público regular para a escola quando já tinha cerca de 12 anos. Então provavelmente isso aconteceu quando eu tinha uns 10 anos mais ou menos. Era tão ruim acordar tão cedo, já que eu chegava muito cedo na escola, lembro que costumava dormir na minha mesa esperando a aula começar. Com certeza ele continuava me pressionando para estar pronto às 6h. Isso continua comigo até hoje. Eu continuo tendo essa voz interna que me pressiona a não chegar atrasado aos meus compromissos. Isso é bom porque nunca tive problemas com empregadores ou professores por chegar atrasado, ao contrário de outros colegas. Mas, por outro lado, não é muito saudável, pois crio um pouco de ansiedade quando as coisas não saem como planejado.

image.png

image.png

  A person being on time is very important for your development in society. Usually, an employee or student who has a problem with being on time is labeled as irresponsible. Learning to be punctual as a child can help us with that problem. However, there should also be other ways to teach that in addition to creating pressure and punishments for children to teach that. I think that my father didn't know how to teach that, and now I need to be very careful to not repeat this type of thing with my kids. Luckily my wife is pretty much relaxed with time than me and together we can try to avoid these problems.

  Ser pontual é muito importante para o desenvolvimento de uma pessoa na sociedade. Geralmente, um funcionário ou estudante que tem problemas para ser pontual é rotulado como irresponsável. Aprender a ser pontual desde a infância pode nos ajudar com esse problema. No entanto, também deveria haver outras maneiras de ensinar isso, além de criar pressão e punições para as crianças. Acredito que meu pai não sabia como ensinar isso, e agora preciso ser muito cuidadoso para não repetir esse tipo de coisa com meus filhos. Felizmente, minha esposa é mais relaxada em relação ao tempo do que eu, e juntos podemos tentar evitar esses problemas.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now