Repairing mistakes in the past would really help me?[en/pt]


banner made in canvas


"So here I am, growing older all the time
Looking older all the time, feeling younger in my mind
And here I am, doing everything I can
Holding on to what I am, pretending I'm a Superman"

Fragment of the music "Superman" by Goldfinger

  It is part of our growing up experience to see the past with other eyes. The music that I cited it is a bit of that, as much as we get older, the more we think about new possibilities. When we are young we deal badly with thought decisions. My life between my 18th and 25th birthdays was filled with lots of decisions that nowadays maybe I know that I could do differently. I think that my worst moment was between 2006 - 2009. I was graduating with my undergraduate studies in Biology but was a little lost about where to go. I wanted to continue in the area, doing Masters's and Ph.D., but I didn't know where and how. I had just left the Cetaceans internship that I was into in the middle of my final university project, actually, my supervisor kicked me from there, with the excuse that he wanted to renew his group and the interesting part is that he continued the idea that I brought to the group and the collaborator. I found a way to study intestinal parasites in stranded whales and dolphins and found a researcher to collaborate with. He stole that and continued it as a master project for another student. That info I heard 2 years after I left the lab.

  Faz parte de nossa experiência de crescimento ver o passado com outros olhos. A música que citei é um pouco disso, pois à medida que envelhecemos, mais pensamos em novas possibilidades. Quando somos jovens, lidamos mal com decisões pensadas. Minha vida entre meus 18 e 25 anos foi repleta de muitas decisões que, hoje em dia, talvez eu saiba que poderia tomar de forma diferente. Acho que meu pior momento foi entre 2006 e 2009. Eu estava me formando em Biologia, mas estava um pouco perdido quanto ao rumo a seguir. Eu queria continuar na área, fazer mestrado e doutorado, mas não sabia onde e como. Eu tinha acabado de sair do estágio em cetáceos em que estava no meio do meu projeto final da universidade, na verdade, meu supervisor me expulsou de lá, com a desculpa de que queria renovar seu grupo e o interessante é que ele deu continuidade à ideia que eu trouxe para o grupo e para o colaborador. Descobri uma maneira de estudar parasitas intestinais em baleias e golfinhos encalhados e encontrei um pesquisador com quem colaborar. Ele roubou a ideia e a manteve como um projeto de mestrado para outro aluno. Fiquei sabendo dessa informação dois anos depois que saí do laboratório.

  Even with this problem, I could finish my biology degree and was desperate to find a place to host me. At that time my brother was just starting his psychology degree at the Federal University (UFRJ) and told me that a stem cells laboratory was looking for people for a project. So I joined, but things didn't go well, somehow I didn't adapt to the place and was rejected in the interview for the Master's program. So I jumped for the next lab, a cancer laboratory, in there it happened a similar thing. So what was happening? I was just jumping from one place to the other in despair, fearing that I wouldn't accomplish my dream of becoming a scientist. I wasn't breathing and reflecting on myself and what I wanted to do with science, maybe doing more research about everything.

 Mesmo com esse problema, consegui terminar meu curso de biologia e estava desesperado para encontrar um lugar para me hospedar. Naquela época, meu irmão estava começando o curso de psicologia na Universidade Federal (UFRJ) e me disse que um laboratório de células-tronco estava procurando pessoas para um projeto. Então entrei, mas as coisas não deram certo, de alguma forma não me adaptei ao lugar e fui rejeitado na entrevista para o programa de mestrado. Então, pulei para o laboratório seguinte, um laboratório de câncer, e lá aconteceu algo semelhante. Então, o que estava acontecendo? Eu estava pulando de um lugar para o outro, desesperado, com medo de não conseguir realizar meu sonho de me tornar um cientista. Eu não estava respirando e refletindo sobre mim mesmo e sobre o que eu queria fazer com a ciência, talvez pesquisar mais sobre tudo.

  I only realized what I wanted when I met a bioinformatics scientist in the same cancer institute. I went to his graduate program's class about bioinformatics and that intrigued me. So I went to talk to him and started in his lab, and every time I learned more about programming and bioinformatics I fell more in love with the discipline. So If I could go back in time, maybe recover a bit of these 3 to 4 years I spent just wandering around. Maybe I would spend 1 year only studying about all the research fields, visiting labs, and then falling in love with what I really wanted to do. But, I can't complain, maybe I really needed this big amount of time to find myself, despite that, of course, I get a little bit hurt when I see younger people that climbed the research stairs faster than me.

  Só percebi o que eu queria quando conheci um cientista de bioinformática no mesmo instituto de câncer. Fui à aula de bioinformática do programa de pós-graduação dele e isso me intrigou. Então fui conversar com ele e comecei a trabalhar em seu laboratório e, a cada vez que aprendia mais sobre programação e bioinformática, eu me apaixonava mais pela disciplina. Portanto, se eu pudesse voltar no tempo, talvez recuperasse um pouco desses 3 ou 4 anos que passei apenas vagando por aí. Talvez eu passasse 1 ano apenas estudando sobre todos os campos de pesquisa, visitando laboratórios e depois me apaixonando pelo que eu realmente queria fazer. Mas não posso reclamar, talvez eu realmente precisasse desse tempo para me encontrar, apesar de que, é claro, fico um pouco magoado quando vejo pessoas mais jovens que subiram as escadas da pesquisa mais rápido do que eu.


  Despite of all that feeling that makes us want to go back and make different decisions, we should focus on our present, and use our past experiences to help us with daily problems, and maybe pass some important information for our children so maybe they don't repeat our past mistakes.

  Apesar de todo esse sentimento que nos faz querer voltar atrás e tomar decisões diferentes, devemos nos concentrar em nosso presente e usar nossas experiências passadas para nos ajudar com os problemas diários e talvez passar algumas informações importantes para nossos filhos, para que eles não repitam nossos erros do passado.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now