My First Encounter with Phone Fraud and lesson learned

It's so sad that even though there are numerous legit ways to make money, both online and offline some people still choose the path of inflicting pain on others by robbing them of their hard-earned money, and they think they are being smart, following a short cut to success, what they don't know is that every day can be for the thief, but one day for the owner is definitely coming, and nemesis will catch up on them.

These evil men are always coming up with new strategies to scam people, so it's always important to stay updated about their different strategies, For the sake of this post, I will be sharing my very first scam experience through a mobile phone. It was in early 2000 when mobile phones got introduced in my country and only a few people were able to afford them, luckily for us, an uncle of mine sells UK used phones, so he gifted my dad and mum one each, I was very young, but I was able to use the phones even more than my parent, as expected, I was the go-to anytime they want to use their phone for anything other than calls like sending messages, my mum would always complain of the font being too small for her, as for me I felt on top of the world as a proud daughter who could operate her parent's phone.

pexels-mikhail-nilov-7534098 (1).jpgSource

One day a message popped in from supposedly Coca-Cola company, stating that mum had won a huge amount of money, a number was placed at the end of the message for us to call to claim the prize, Some people think online scamming only started recently when smartphones came in vogue, little did they know that it has been right from the inception of those old sony Ericson, Samsung and Nokia torchlight phones, continuing my story, we were naive, and I proceeded to call the number, with his calm scamming voice, and technique, he told us to send the biggest amount of airtime available then, that it would also serve as a processing fee, to cut the long story short, we kept on sending airtime and he kept demanding after each transfer, claiming it was fir one thing or another, it was after the third time our eyes cleared that we've been scammed, It was really painful being taken advantage of, but we learned our lesson, my mum doesn't even bother replying anyone online that hasn't been verified anymore.

That experience made me wiser and as time went on, they kept bringing on new tactics, like calling to reveal your debit card number or fake job offers, some even go yo the length of trying to hack our social media accounts, it is even in an upgraded format now compared to those days, but hey, once bitten, twice shy, I'm never going to fall for any of their tactics, One attribute I think makes some of us fall, victim, is when we are greedy and also looking for a quicker means of making money, like the double money scheme, also if anything seems too good to be true, I'll rather not be a part of it, and the dar, these lessons has been very helpful protecting me from scammers.

Thank you for reading❤❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center