I Will Pass On This...

A lot of people are tapping into the opportunities the social media is offering, and it's really awesome seeing how lives are changing positively. Over the years, we have seen a massive increase in the numbers of influencers we have out there, and that field has really become competitive and unhealthy at the same time.

There was a time when we only saw influencers on TV, and it didn't come cheap. The majority of them were famous actors, musicians, footballers, and others, but today, things are different. Anyone can become an influencer as long as you have the audience and content to achieve your goal as an influencer.

As easy as it looks, being an influencer isn't an easy task, and it's not something I will ever be prepared for different reasons.

My social life isn't one of the things I am proud of due to my inconsistency, and a lot of people who know me even from a distance can even testify to it. This minute, I am committed to something online, and the next minute, I can't even remember my online commitments, especially when I have more than one task to do at a time.

If I am being honest, Hive is the only platform I have been very consistent on in the last three years, and this same Hive is the reason why I get to use other social platforms sometimes.


Being an influencer can be very demanding, you have to be the outgoing type who is ready to party or mingle depending on what you are influencing. You must be an extrovert because your job demands it so automatically, I can't be an influencer because of my introverted lifestyle.

I love privacy and quietness, so even if I am outside for any reason, it will be for myself and not for the sake of influencing. I remember a few years ago when I got two job offers as a PRO in a club and manager to an upcoming artist.

I know these jobs weren't for me, but I took them at different times because I desperately needed a job. It all started with the PRO job, and I barely did it for a week. I need to go out to meet as many ballers as possible, but I can't keep going out every time.

It was overwhelming & exhausting, and I just let the job go. The manager role was the worst because it required spending more time outside, which made me sick. I just couldn't keep up with the demands and believe it would be the same for me as an influencer because I have to create a balance between my clients and fans.

Another turn-off for me as an influencer is the pressure that comes with their lifestyle. Many of them have to lie and pretend to be what they are not; they convinced people with false facts to serve their interests, and I just can't be part of it.

If you look at the social media today, many influencer flaunts luxury that doesn't belong to them and it's really funny because it makes no sense. It's a common trend among influencers, and it doesn't exempt even the big names in the industry. We have seen them pull scams as influencers and I am always like wow!. I understand that it's a yes or no thing, but what if my success as an influencer depends on just that one lie I have to tell?

Influencers have an easy change in personality, and I doubt if I can cope with that. I just want to be myself, living a life not to impress anyone. It's not like I can't be an influencer at all, I actually can but it's doesn't have to be something that would impose a new lifestyle on me. At least I promote my products too and my little effort counts.

Being an influencer is lucrative when you have the right connection, but I am not just prepared for it, whether mentally or physically. I know my stress level limit, and it's pointless pushing when it can have a negative impact on me.

I am just glad that influencing isn't the only opportunity available in this space.


Image Are Mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center